Sunday, January 15, 2023

Jefferson Airplane - Last Flight (1972 us, an exciting live set, 2007 double disc remaster)

By 1972 Jefferson Airplane had evolved from the psychedelic folkrockers whose classic Surrealistic Pillow had soundtracked 1967’s Summer Of Love. Vocalist/founder Marty Balin was gone, though he rejoins the group for one of the high points here: an extraordinary, rousing encore of Diana/ Volunteers that would have had the hippy audience screaming for the revolution.

Taking Balin’s place as singer for this tour was David Freiberg (ex-Quicksilver Messenger Service), while veteran electric violinist Papa John Creach had joined in 1970 and former Turtle Johnny Barbata provides drums. The four remaining members from their heyday would soon split: lead guitarist Jorma Kaukonen and bassist Jack Casady concentrating on bluesy side project Hot Tuna; frontwoman Grace Slick and Paul Kantner (vocals/guitar) forming Jefferson Starship. 

Despite this, Airplane were still formidable live. Kaukonen shines with fiery soloing on Twilight Double Leader and Feel So Good. Grace Slick is in fine form throughout, her powerful voice soaring over the maelstrom of sound as the group stretch out.�While fans of …Pillow will find the heavy blues-rock of Come Back Baby or boogie of Papa John’s Down Home Blues far from essential, the superb, loose version of Somebody To Love will delight them.
by Jon Harrington, 29 August 2007
Disc 1
1. Introduction By Bill Graham - 1:14
2. Somebody To Love (Darby Slick) - 4:39
3. Twilight Double Leader (Paul  Kantner) - 4:30
4. Wooden Ships (David Crosby, Paul Kantner, Stephen Stills) - 6:17
5. Milk Train (Grace Slick, Papa John Creach, Roger Spotts) - 4:09
6. Blind John (CJ Stetson, Peter Monk) - 4:27
7. Come Back Baby (Traditional) - 7:01
8. The Son Of Jesus (Paul Kantner) - 5:13
9. Long John Silver (Jack Casady, Grace Slick) - 5:15
10.When The Earth Moves Again (Paul Kantner) - 3:55
11.Papa John's Down Home Blues (Papa John Creach, Roger Spotts) - 5:26
12.Eat Starch Mom (Jorma Kaukonen, Grace Slick) - 5:35
Recorded live at the Winterland Arena, San Francisco on 22nd September 1972
Disc 2
1. John's Other (Papa John Creach) - 6:08
2. Trial By Fire (Jorma Kaukonen) - 4:24
3. Law Man (Grace Slick) - 2:40
4. Have You Seen The Saucers? (Paul Kantner) - 4:04
5. Aerie (Gang Of Eagles) (Grace Slick) - 3:30
6. Feel So Good (Jorma Kaukonen) - 11:00
7. Crown Of Creation (Paul Kantner) - 3:23
8. Walking The Tou Tou (Jorma Kaukonen) - 5:11
9. Diana / Volunteers (Paul Kantner, Grace Slick / Martin Balin, Paul Kantner) - 5:21
Recorded live at the Winterland Arena, San Francisco on 22nd September 1972

Jefferson Airplane
*Grace Slick - Vocals
*Paul Kantner - Vocals, Rhythm Guitar
*Jorma Kaukonen - Lead Guitar, Vocals
*Jack Casady - Bass
*John Barbata - Drums, Percussion
*Papa John Creach - Electric Violin, Vocals 
*David Freiberg - Vocals, Tambourine, Guitar (Disc 1 Track 6)
*Marty Balin - Vocals (Disc 2 Track 9b)

1966  Jefferson Airplane - Takes Off (2013 audiophile remaster)
1967  Jefferson Airplane - Surrealistic Pillow (2013 audiophile and 2003 xpanded)
Related Acts
1972  Hot Tuna - Burgers (2012 audiophile Vinyl replica)