Saturday, April 27, 2019

Stillwater - Stillwater (1977 us, fine southern rock, Vinyl edition)

Stillwater was an obscure multi-membered Southern rock band that featured the triple guitar team of Mike Causey (guitar), Bobby Golden (guitar, vocals), and Rob Walker (guitar), plus Jimmy Hall (vocals, percussion), Allison Scarborough (bass, vocals), Bob Spearman (keyboards, vocals), and Sebie Lacey (drums). Originally formed in Georgia during 1973, Stillwater issued a pair of albums during the late '70s -- 1977's self titled debut and 1979's I Reserve the Right! -- and narrowly missed scoring a Top 40 hit single with the track "Mind Bender." 

Between the near-hit single and steady opening gigs for the Atlanta Rhythm Section and the Charlie Daniels Band (the latter of which was riding high at the time with the monster crossover hit "The Devil Went Down to Georgia"), Stillwater seemed to be on the right track for breakthrough success. But when their record label, Capricorn Records, hit upon hard times, Stillwater found themselves without a label, and broke up soon thereafter. Several live tracks from 1978 were included on the 1997 Alive Down South multi-artist collection, which was followed by a Stillwater reunion the same year. A new album, Running Free, was released a year later, and the group began to play live shows once more.
by Greg Prato
1. Rock 'n' Roll Loser (Rob Walker) - 4:14
2. Out On A Limb (Bob Spearman, Jimmy Hall, Mike Causey, Rob Walker) - 3:57
3. Sunshine Blues (Bob Spearman, Bobby Golden, Buddy Buie, Jimmy Hall) - 3:37
4. Sam's Jam (Allison Scarborough, Bob Spearman, Bobby Golden, Buddy Buie, Jimmy Hall, Mike Causey, Sebie Lacey) - 9:36
5. Mindbender (Buddy Buie, Rob Walker) - 4:14
6. Universal Fool (Buddy Buie, Jimmy Hall, Rob Walker) - 6:58
7. April Love (Buddy Buie, Mike Causey, Rob Walker) - 4:08
8. Fantasy Park (Allison Scarborough, Buddy Buie, Jimmy Hall, Mike Causey, Rob Walker) - 4:07

*Mike Causey - Guitar
*Bobby Golden - Guitar
*Jimmy Hall - Percussion, Vocals
*Sebie Lacey - Drums, Vocals
*Allison Scarborough - Bass, Guitar, Vocals
*Bob Spearman - Keyboards
*Robert Walker - Guitar, Vocals

Free Text
the Free Text