Thursday, March 3, 2022

Elonkorjuu - Harvest Time (1972 finland, heavy prog classic rock, 2004 digipak remaster)

Elonkorjuu came from Pori, Finland and was founded in 1969. At first, the sessions were done in a rather dark cellar; the musicians were young, talented and highly motivated. That same year, Elonkorjuu won second place at a competition at Helsinki's House of Culture. A short time after this, the band's success blew fast. They toured through Finland and quickly became well-known. One of the band's highlights was the gig at the rock festival in Turku, where they performed before a hundred thousands youths who went wild about the fantastic band. By the end of the year, they decided to record an album titled "Harvest Time", which has since reached cult status in the annals of progressive rock. 

This quartet is one of the many little-known bands that did heavy blues/psych with strong prog elements, drawing initially from the schools of Cream, Black Sabbath and Colosseum, but they expanded on those influences with soulful organ and cutting guitar from leader Jukka Syrenius. A killer album from beginning to end. Heavy guitar work all over and great English vocals. 
1. Unfeeling - 3:23
2. Swords - 4:03
3. Captain - 3:41
4. Praise To Our Basement - 4:43
5. Future - 3:55
6. Hey Hunter - 3:40
7. The Ocean Song - 3:17
8. Old Man's Dream - 4:44
9. Me And My Friend - 4:01
10.A Little Rocket Song - 4:04
All songs by Heikki Lajunen, Jukka Syrenius, Ilkka Poijarvi, Veli-pekka Pessi, Eero Rantasila

*Jukka Syrenius  - Guitar, Vocals
*Veli-pekka Pessi - Bass
*Eero Rantasila - Drums
*Ilkka Poijarvi - Organ, Guitar, Flute
*Heikki Lajunen - Vocals