Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Nicky Hopkins - The Tin Man Was A Dreamer (1973 uk, strong solid ballads and rocking stompers)

Nicky Hopkins' finest solo album, the memorably titled The Tin Man Was A Dreamer is a solid piece of engagingly edgy pop-rock variety with a few rough edges. As one would expect, Hopkins' piano playing (augmented by the organ in spots) dominates most of the songs, but there's ample room for strong contributions from George Harrison (working as "George O'Hara") on lead and slide guitar on four of the tracks, and Mick Taylor on lead and acoustic guitars on four tracks; the rest of the band includes Klaus Voormann on bass and Bobby Keys on sax, as well as future Tubes alumnus Prairie Prince on drums. 

Highlights include the hauntingly beautiful ballad "Dolly", the closest thing to a potential hit on this album, featuring a moving vocal performance by Hopkins (who wasn't known as a singer), with a beautifully understated lead guitar contribution by Taylor; the instrumental "Edward", featuring Hopkins' piano and organ rippling across a wide range of musical textures; the pounding, pumping rocker "Speed On", which offers Hopkins and his songwriting partner Jerry Williams on vocals; the wittily scatalogoical "Banana Anna"; "Lawyer's Lament", with its exquisite harmonies and Taylor's sensitive lead playing; and the rollicking "Pig's Boogie", which crosses paths with the work of Merrill Moore and Jerry Lee Lewis. This is a very worthwhile foray into center-stage by one of rock's most renowned side- and session men.
by Bruce Eder
1. Sundown In Mexico – 1:35
2. Waiting For The Band – 2:15
3. Edward – 5:20
4. Dolly (N. Hopkins, J. Williams) – 4:42
5. Speed On (N. Hopkins, J. Williams) – 3:59
6. The Dreamer – 5:47
7. Banana Anna (N. Hopkins, J. Williams) – 3:37
8. Lawyer's Lament (N. Hopkins, J. Williams) – 3:43
9. Shout It Out (N. Hopkins, J. Williams) – 3:39
10.Pig's Boogie – 2:42
All songs by Nicky Hopkins except where indicated

*Nicky Hopkins - Piano, Organ, Vocals
*George Harrison - Guitar, Slide Guitar
*Mick Taylor - Guitar
*Jerry Williams - Vocals
*Klaus Voorman - Bass
*Prairie Prince - Drums
*Ray Cooper - Percussion
*Bobby Keys - Sax
*Jim Hora - Sax
*Jim Price - Trumpet
*Chris Spedding - Guitar
*Mike Egan, Chris Rae - Acoustic Guitars
*Del Newman - Strings, Brass Arrangements

Free Text
Just Paste