Thursday, January 27, 2022

Matthew Fisher - Matthew Fisher / Strange Days (1979/81 uk, splendid silky rock vibes)

The self-titled album from 1979 is a superb album, full of heartfelt ballads. 'Anna', for example, combines the slightly folksy singer-songwriter image with big, bold, and slightly epic arrangements that give you the 'small man on a big stage' feel that would, for example, be so successful for the likes of Andrew Gold. In fact, you could draw comparisons between the two here.

Strange Days (1981) offers more power pop sensibilities with a lush production - and lots of double tracked vocals combined with the more new wave music fashion of the period. A higher energy suite of songs, in fact. This album doesn't quite have the dramatic focus of the earlier album but there is still much to like here with a suite of light and airy songs presented with lots of energy. In mastering terms, there is a touch of compression residing within the mids but the effect is quite subtle so that the effect is used more to emphasise detail than to intrude upon the whole soundstage.
Hi-Fi World, April 2018
1. Can't You Feel My Love - 4:19
2. Give It A Try - 3:34
3. Back In Your Arms Again - 3:31
4. Only A Game - 4:13
5. Why'd I Have To Fall In Love With You - 4:14
6. Looking For Shelter (Linda Fisher, Matthew Fisher) - 3:50
7. Anna - 4:40
8. Miss Suzie - 2:59
9. Just How Blind - 4:17
10.Running From Your Love - 4:21
11.Something I Should Have Known (Chris White, Matthew Fisher) - 4:17
12.Without You (Chris White, Matthew Fisher) - 4:29
13.Living In A Dream (Chris White, Matthew Fisher) - 3:34
14.Why Can't You Lie To Me (Chris White, Matthew Fisher) - 3:40
15.Only Yourself To Blame (Chris White, Matthew Fisher) - 3:27
16.Desperate Measures - 3:16
17.Can't Stop Loving You Now - 4:09
18.She Makes Me Feel (Chris White, Matthew Fisher) - 3:55
19.Take Me For A Ride (Chris White, Matthew Fisher) - 3:36
20.Strange Days (Chris White, Matthew Fisher) - 4:35
All compositions by Matthew Fisher except where indicated
Tracks 1-10 from 1979 LP "Matthew Fisher"
Tracks 11-20 from 1981 LP "Strange Days"

*Matthew Fisher - Multi Instruments, Orchestral Arrangements
*Rod Argent - Vocal Harmony
*Ron Asprey - Alto Sax 
*Steve Bingham - Bass
*Barry DeSouza - Drums
*James Dewar - Vocal Harmony
*Mo Foster - Bass
*Mick Grabham - Electric Rhythm Guitar
*Alan Jones - Bass
*Dill Katz - Bass
*Dave Mattacks - Drums
*Paul Westwood - Bass
*Peter Van Hooke - Drums
*Terry Popple - Drums
*Graham Preskett - Arranger, Orchestral Arrangements
*Tim Renwick - Guitar
*Henry Spinetti - Drums
*Dave Nevin - Vocal Harmony
*Val Stokes - Vocal Harmony
*Steve Stroud - Vocal Harmony
*Stephanie de Sykes - Vocal Harmony
*Clare Torry - Vocal Harmony
*John Verity - Vocal Harmony
*Pete Zorn - Vocal Harmony

Related Acts