Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Gulliver - Gulliver (1969 us, charmy sunny folk blue eyed soul with young Daryl Hall, 2002 remaster)

Brought together by manager/producer John Madara, Gulliver was one of the first shots at corporate music. With a line up consisting of Temple University student/vocalist Daryl Hall, drummer Jim Helmer, bassist Thomas Sellers and guitarist Tim Moore, the group had more than it's share of talent quickly attracting the attention of Elektra. 

Largely penned by Moore, the album found the quartet trying to find a path between conventional rock ("I'm Really Smokin'" and "Flogene") and early stabs at blue-eyed Philly soul ("Every Day's a Lovely Day" and "Over the Mountain"). On the other hand, Hall's voice was instantly recognizable and most of the songs sported decent melodies ("Lemon Road").

The album proved a commercial flop and the group quickly disbanded, though not before recording a couple of demos with guitarist John Oates. Hall went on to enjoy gigantic success as a member of Hall and Oates.
1. Everyday's A Lovely Day (Tom Sellers, Tim Moore, Daryl Hall) - 2:49
2. I'm Really Smokin' (Jim Helmer, Daryl Hall) - 2:28
3. Christine (Barry, Tom Sellers, Daryl Hall) - 1:51
4. Rose Come Home (Jim Helmer, Daryl Hall) - 3:41
5. Enough / Over The Mountain (Tim Moore) - 4:33
6. Angelina (Tim Moore) - 3:13
7. Flo Gene (Tim Moore) - 2:23
8. Lemon Road (Tim Moore) - 3:09
9. Seventy (Tom Sellers, Tim Moore) - 3:14
10.A Truly Good Song (Tim Moore) - 4:33

The Gulliver
Tom Sellers – Bass, Keyboards
Jim Helmer – Drums
Tim Moore – Guitar, Vocals
Daryl Hall – Keyboards, Vocals

Free Text
the Free Text