Saturday, May 9, 2015

Catfish - Get Down (1970 us, magnificent raw folk blues rock)

Catfish has been called an “American folk blues hero” and has been a mainstay on the American Blues music scene for three decades now! He has twenty four albums to his credit, comprised almost totally of original material. “Catfish Blues” and “Like A Big Dog Barkin’” on the Wildcat label.

Catfish found his calling early on. While growing up in Detroit, he was sneaking into Motown Records Hitsville studio to catch the Four tops and the Supremes and grooving to R&B and Blues while his contemporaries gravitated to the Beatles. In the late 1960’s he formed the Catfish Band and led them out of Detroit into national prominence.
1. Catfish (Bob Hodge, Mark Manko, T. Carson) - 3:49
2. The Hawk - 4:31
3. No Place To Hide (Bob Hodge, Mark Manko) - 4:42
4. 300 Pound Fat Mama - 7:56
5. Love Lights - 5:33
6. Coffee Song - 1:35
7. Tradition (Bob Hodge, Mark Manko) - 3:26
8. Sundown Man - 3:32
9. Reprise: Catfish/Get High, Get Naked, Get Down (B. Hodge, M. Manko, T. Carson) - 9:43
All selections written by Bob Hodge unless otherwise indicated

*Bob "Catfish" Hodge - Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals
*Mark Manko - Guitar
*Harry Phillips - Keyboards
*W.R. Cooke - Bass
*Jimmy Optner - Drums

Free Text 
Text Host