Monday, October 10, 2022

Granmax - A Ninth Alive / Kiss Heaven Goodbye (1976/78 us, powerful guitar rock, 2008 digipak remaster)

From Nebraska of all places came this little-known 70's act, debuting as a power trio in 1976 with A Ninth Alive and following that up two years later with Kiss Heaven Goodbye, by which time they'd recruited a new vocalist to expand their sound. By most accounts the first album is a bit of an ordinary hard rock album and it's Kiss that often gets the long-lost-classic accolades, and that's the album reviewed here. 

On their second "Kiss Heaven Goodbye" released in 1978, their main characteristic is the singer which has a unique voice,  The record is quite heavy for its time and this is obvious judging from cover and songtitles however don't forget it's still hard rock. There are songs (e.g "Respected man") that contain Sabbath elements, in general these guys were more hard rock oriented. Songs like "Prince Of The Southern Ice" would be right at home on any early NWOBHM album, and that movement was still a year away from taking hold. Like many a band over the years, the breaks didn't go their way and they disbanded. Granmax is indeed one of those gone-but-not-quite-forgotten bands that 70's fans should track down.
1. Take You Away - 4:45
2. U.S. Is Coming Around - 3:56
3. Crumbling Towers - 2:43
4. Bankers Bar - 4:31
5. Find A New Day - 3:24
6. Out On The Tide - 3:58
7. Ceiling Wall - 4:37
8. Glitter Boots Boogie - 3:50
9. Let Me Know - 3:22
10.Letters To Myself - 4:47
11.Mistress Of Eternity - 4:24
12.Dream Woman - 2:47
13.Daughter Of Hell - 4:43
14.It's Worth The Wait - 3:11
15.Prince Of The Southern Ice - 4:31
16.This Life's For Me - 3:58
17.Respected Man - 3:35
18.Travels Of Tim - 3:34
All songs by Steve Myers, Tim McCorkle, Louis McCorkle, plus Nick Christopher for tracks 11-18
Tracks 1-10 from "A Ninth Alive" 1976
Tracks 11-18 from "Kiss Heaven Goodbye" 1978

*Nick Christopher - Lead Vocals (Tracks 11-18)
*Steve Myers - Lead Guitar, Vocals
*Tim McCorkle - Bass Guitar, Vocals
*Louis McCorkle - Drums