Thursday, December 13, 2012

The Magicians - An Invitation to Cry...The Best of the Magicians (1965-67 us, fabulous jangly folk-rock to grunge roots 'n' roll raves, Sundazed issue)

Both sides of their four 1965-1967 singles on Columbia, plus five previously unissued tracks from the same period. The possibility of an album's worth of Magicians' material has long intrigued collectors of '60s music, most of whom are only familiar with their "An Invitation to Cry" single from Nuggets. 

At times it's Lovin' Spoonful-like folk-rock (they cover two songs from the debut album by minor Greenwich Village folk-rocker David Blue); sometimes it's Young Rascals-ish soul-rock, with a poppier bent; sometimes it's journeyman blues-rock (covers of "Back Door Man" and "Who Do You Love"); sometimes it's fair period 1966 pop/rock. 

The Gordon-Bonner songwriting collaboration had not yet been cemented; in fact, there are only two Gordon-Bonner compositions here, although on some of the other tracks, one or the other wrote with other partners. In retrospect, it's unfortunate that the Magicians didn't hold together longer, until the Gordon-Bonner team had matured, but fate plays its own cards. 
by Richie Unterberger
1. An Invitation to Cry (Alan Gordon, James Woods) - 2:55
2. Rain Don't Fall on Me No More (arr. J. Townley, B. Wylde, A. Polhemus) - 2:25
3. About My Love (David Blue) - 2:04
4. I'll Tell the World About You (A. Gordon, A. Jacobs) - 2:52
5. Lady Fingers (Garry Bonner, Alan Gordon) - 2:45
6. Angel on the Corner (A. Jacobs) - 2:18
7. I'd Like to Know (David Blue) - 2:34
8. Back Door Man (Chuck Berry, Chester Burnett, Willie Dixon) - 2:16
9. That's What Love Is Made Of (Warren Moore, Smokey Robinson, Robert Rogers) - 2:38
10.Double Good Feeling (G. Bonner, Alan Gordon) - 1:58
11.I Won't Be Here Tomorrow (G. Bonner, A. Jacobs) - 2:32
12.You're So Fine (Lance Finnie, Willie Schofield, Bob West) - 2:35
13.Who Do You Love (Ellas McDaniel) - 3:54

The Magicians
*Garry Bonner - Bass
*Alan Gordon - Drums
*Allan "Jake" Jacobs - Guitar
*John Townley - Guitar
Additional Personnel
*Rod Bristow - Vocals

Free Text