Monday, November 3, 2014

Improved Sound Limited - Improved Sound Limited (1971 germany, spectacular prog psych krautrock)

It all started in 1961 as a student band at the Willstätter School in Nuremburg. They called themselves the "Pyjamas Skiffle Group" and copied Lonnie Donegan relentlessly. From 1964 to 1966 they appeared under the name "Blizzards" and backed the German pop singer Roy Black at 33 shows. Starting in the fall of 1966, they called themselves "Improved Sound Limited", and so they remained, except for a brief intermezzo in 1976 when CBS called the band „Condor“.

In 1966 they won the 1st Place in the competition "Best Beat Band in Bavaria" at Bavarian Radio (BR) Participation in the BR "Schmusical" called "How Beatles turn into citizens". In 1968 first soundtrack Music for Megan Terry's play "Vietrock" with Inge Brandenburg, directed by: Stavros Doufexis, choreographed by José Luis Gómez Music for the solo pantomime "Idylls of Herr Meck" by José Luis Gómez

The next year came with music for the Film  "Engelchen macht weiter – hoppe, hoppe Reiter", directed by Michael Verhoeven Film music for "Der Bettenstudent", directed by Michael Verhoeven Single "Sing Your Song" / "Marvin Is Dead" (Polydor), also Music for the TV documantary "Ezra Pound", for the 13 part series "The 6th Day" and for the first five episodes of "The Play School"

One more soundtrack "o.k.", directed by Michael Verhoeven and a Single "Oedipus" / "Where Will The Salmon Spawn" (United Artists). More music for the series "The Play School" and for the series "The Kommissar", episode "Dr. Meinhardt's Tragic End".

In 1971 they recorded and released a Double album simply named "Improved Sound Limited" (Liberty) Film music "Lass knacken, Ive" with the song "The Policeman" BR Open Air Concert in Bergdorf (with Tangerine Dream, Birth Control, Ihre Kinder and Klaus Kreuzeder) German Pop Festival in Koblenz and Burg Herzberg Festival (with Frumpy, Can,Achim Reichel, Xhole, Embryo, Guru Guru etc.).
1. Doctor Bob Dylan - 5:14
2. Pink Hawthorn - 3:05
3. Johanna - 3:59
4. If You Want To - 2:08
5. Oedipus - 3:42
6. Fudd McGorges - 3:18
7. Thingamannalime - 3:26
8. An Old Army Poem - 2:00
9. Where Will The Salmon Spawn - 2:46
10. To My Son - 5:13
11. Shining Brightly In The Sun - 4:11
12. It Is You (You Belong To Me) - 1:58
13. Columbines, Violets And Daisies - 2:32
14. I Am The Wolf - 4:46
15. A Well-Respected Man - 3:34
16. Drunken Mr. Hyde - 0:45
17. A Soldier's Songbook - 17:17
18. *** - 0:47
All songs written by Axel Linstädt, Bernd Linstädt 

Improved Sound Limited
*Johnny Fickert - Vocals, Percussion, Flutes, Alto Sax
*Axel Linstädt - Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals
*Uli Ruppert - Bass
*Rolf Gröschner - Drums

Free Text
the Free Text