Monday, May 2, 2022

Crystal Circus - In Relation To Our Times (1968 us, nice psychedelia, 2001 akarma hard sleeve edition)

Crystal Circus were an American psych-rock band from Los Angeles that test-ran the album In Relation to Our Times on small-press All-American in 1968. 

Most of the songs have nice, bouncy tunes with major/minor melodic alternations; pleasing sunshine pop harmonies; and appropriately psychedelic organ, fuzz guitars, trippy orchestration, vocal distortion, and odd effects. The lyrics might be superficially far-out, but again, impressions like those recorded in "Circus and Zoo World" are a good complement for this kind of candy pop-psych. Occasionally, they get into more of a straightforward garage-ish hard rock-soul blend, like on "Never Again," but it's the more ethereal and poppy numbers that stand out. 
by Richie Unterberger
1. In Relation (To Our Times) (Bill Holmes, Bob Feldman, Jack Bielan) - 2:21
2. Don't Say I Didn't Warn You (Bill Holmes, Jack Bielan, Rose Kaufman) - 2:33
3. Girl Like You (Greg Munford) - 2:13
4. Sittin' And Thinkin' (Bill Holmes, Gary 'Solo' Solomon, Norma Dunman) - 2:07
5. Twisted Conversation (Greg Munford) - 3:38
6. Merry-Go-Round (Bill Holmes, Gary 'Solo' Solomon, Jack Bielan, Norma Dunman) - 3:26
7. Circus And Zoo World (Bill Holmes, Gary 'Solo' Solomon) - 2:49
8. Never Again (Bill Holmes, Jack Bielan) - 3:15
9. Castles (In The Sand) (Greg Munford) - 2:58
10.Sweet High (Bill Holmes, Norma Dunman) - 2:51
11.The Difference Between Us (Greg Munford) - 2:26
12.The World Of Seas And Rivers (Bill Holmes, Jack Bielan) - 4:31

Crystal Circus
*Bruce Turner - Lead Guitar
*Greg Munford - Rhythm Guitar, Lead Vocals 
*Bob Feldman - Bass, Lead Vocals 
*Jack Bielan - Keyboards, Vibraphone
*Gary "Solo" Solomon - Saxophone, Flute, Clarinet, Lead Vocals 
*Terry Rae - Drums