Wednesday, May 1, 2019

Gonzalez - Gonzalez (1974 uk, magnificent funky latin jazz brass rock, 2009 japan remaster)

Gonzalez was a loosely knit, British-based aggregate with a revolving-door membership of anywhere from 10 to 30 players. Their specialty was a mostly instrumental melange of funk, jazz, soul, and (later) disco, though they did employ vocalists for selected tracks on most of their albums. Their core early membership consisted of saxophonists Mick Eve, Chris Mercer, and Geoffrey "Bud" Beadle, keyboardist Roy Davies, and guitarist Gordon Hunte; collectively, their previous credits included Georgie Fame's Blue Flames, Juicy Lucy, John Mayall, Keef Hartley, and the Night-Timers, among others. 

First convening in 1971, Gonzalez grew to include bassist DeLisle Harper, trumpeter Ron Carthy, saxophonist Steve Gregory, drummers Richard Bailey and Glen LeFleur, and vocalist George Chandler (among others) by the time they released their self-titled debut album on EMI-Capitol in 1974. Cuts like "Funky Frith Street" and the Latin-tinged "Saoco" later became popular among connoisseurs of obscure funk. The follow-up, Our Only Weapon Is Our Music, appeared in 1975 and featured new members in guitarist/vocalist Lenny Zakatek, trombonist Colin Jacas, guitarist Robert Ahwai, bassist Larry Steele, percussionist Bobby Stignac, and singer Viola Wells.
by Steve Huey
1. Pack It Up (George Chandler, Gonzalez) - 4:25
2. Clapham South (Steve Gregory) - 4:05
3. No Way (Michael Eve, Gonzalez) - 3:30
4. Adelanto Nightride (Chris Mercer) - 3:30
5. Underground Railroad (Lisle Harper) - 3:58
6. Gonzalez (Gonzalez) - 4:59
7. Together Forever (Roy Davis) - 5:40
8. Saoco (Ramon Paz) - 6:45
9. Funky Frith Street (Gonzalez) - 1:33
10.Closer To You (Colin Jacas) - 7:05
11.Cuidado (Zangolza, Michael Eve) - 7:02
12.Got It get It (E. Reid, R. taylor, T.J. Cansfield) - 5:06
13.Hey Ambeinte (Zangolza) - 3:32
14.I Believe In You (Keith Forsey, H. Faltermeier) - 5:16

*Michael Eve - Tenor Sax
*Chris Mercer - Tenor, Alto, Baritone, Electric Saxes
*Steve Gregory - Flute, Soprano, Alto, Tenor Saxes
*Roy Davis - Fender Piano, Clavinet, Piano
*Ron Carthy - Trumpet
*Colin Jacas - Vocals, Trombone
*Jeff Beadle - Flute, Soprano, Baritone Saxes
*Lisle Harper - Bass Guitar
*Larry Steele - Bass, Vocals
*John Giblin - Bass Guitar
*Gordon Hunte - Lead Guitar
*Robert Ahwai - Guitar
*Steve Waller - Guitar
*Glenn Lefleur - Drums
*Preston Heyman - Drums
*Alan Sharpe - Congas, Assorted Percussion
*Richard Bailey - Drums, Timbales
*Bobby John - Congas, Assorted Percussion
*Bobby Stignac - Congas, Timbales
*George Chandler - Vocals
*Lenny Zakatec - Vocals

Free Text
the Free Text