Sunday, October 6, 2013

Neon - Neon (1970 us, stunning hard psych, original Vinyl edition)

Neon’s 1970 debut album was produced by Tommy James and Bob King (the pair also handled musical arrangements and contributed one song to the set). "Neon" is actually a surprisingly good heavy rock album. With Crabtree penning the majority of the material, the set offered up a nice blend of guitar rock ('Mountain Baby' - ignore the ponderous drum solo) and more commercial moves (check out the Tommy James and the Shondells-styled harmonies on 'Hold Back My Tears'). 

Personal favorites were the band's cover of James' 'Dark Is the Night' (always liked that 1960s sitar sound), the rocker 'Can't Stop Myself (From Loving You)' and the mildly psychedelic 'Magic Man'. Listening to the album a couple more times, the set sounds like something The Shondells might have done had the ever elected to go for a tighter, AOR audience - that's meant as a compliment. A pleasant surprise and a bargain at the asking price
1. Mountain Baby - 6:26
2. Hold Back My Tears - 3:24
3. Dark Is The Night (Tommy James, Bob King) - 3:26
4. Can't Stop Myself (From Lovin' You) - 6:20
5. Magic Man - 7:31
6. Nobody Nowhere (P. Brannigan, F. Crabtree, R. Leslie, F. Porter) - 7:30
7. Funny Kind Of Feelin' - 5:15
8. Darling Before I Go (Stereo Single Bonus Track) - 2:13
9. Movin' (Mono Single Bonus Track) - 2:37
All songs by Francis Crabtree except where indicated

*Peter Brannigan - Guitar, Backing Vocals
*Francis Crabtree - Keyboards, Backing Vocals
*Russell Leslie - Vocals, Drums
*Fung Porter - Vocals, Bass

Free Text
Text Host