Sunday, November 4, 2012

Pantheon - Orion (1972 holland, very good progressive jazz rock, similar to canterbury sound)

Pantheon sprung forth from a high school band in 1971. The band, starting off initially with five members, won a national talent scouting in The Hague at the annual Rekreade Festival. Their first prize was a recording session with record company Phonogram

The band, by then reduced to four band members, recorded its first single, I want to know / Master Basion, in what turned out to be the definitive cast consisting of Ruud Wouterson (keyboards, vocals), Hans Boer (saxophone, flute, vocals), Albert Veldkamp (bass and electric guitar) and Rob Verhoeven (drums). Because of the suggestive nauture of the b-side title it was censored by Phonogram from Masturbation into Master Basion

With the attention this record received in the media the number of live concerts substantially increased. Concerts in Pop temple Paradiso and the other big concert halls in the progressive scene were very successful. More and more Pantheon was asked as a supporting act for Focus and Solution

Their second single, Daybreak / Anais, received a great deal of attention on radio and television. This paved the way for Tony Vos, the producer of Phonogram, to record the album Orion in 1972, released on the prestigious Vertigo label. The album was well received and through Paul Acket's booking agency concerts abroad were booked, a.o. as a supporting act for Mungo Jerry during their Switzerland tour. An absolute highlight was their concert in the Doelen in Rotterdam as the supporting act for the Steve Miller Band

A youthful, none of the band members were older than twenty one at the time, lack of financial and commercial insight coupled with a cocky attitude towards the record company and booking agencies led to a premature breaking up of the band. An attempt to regain their position with a renewed cast (a.o. ex-Focus drummer Pierre van der Linden) failed. Up to 1992 they played at various revival concerts with the original line up

Ruud Wouterson owns a busy recording studio and writes ballet music/film scores. Albert Veldkamp is a much soughtafter guitar teacher. Rob Verhoeven is the owner of an advertising agency. Hans Boer gives management courses. 
1. Daybreak - 2:32
2. Anais - 4:58
3. Apocalyps - 10:53
4. The Madman - 1:21
5. Orion - 19:28
6. I Want To Know - 2:42
7. Masturbation - 2:36
8. Anais (Single Version) - 3:27
All compositions by Ruud Wouterson.

*Ruud Wouterson - Keyboards, Vocals,
*Hans Boer - Saxophone, Flute, Vocals,
*Albert Veldkamp - Bass, Electric Guitar
*Rob Verhoeven - Drums

Free Text
the Free Text