Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Apartment One - Open House (1970 holland, efficient prog psych rock, 2014 edition)

Rock band from Hilversum, founded in 1967 under the name Serpentine. The first line-up lasted until 1969 and consisted of: Peter van der Sande (v, g, ex-Sexton Five, Highschool Five, Smokey and Kingbees), Rob Morel (b, ex-Dean Allen Set), Ralf Dragstra (o, p, trb, ex-Dean Allen Set), Bob de Laat (s, ex-Dean Allen Set), Patrick Verboom (tr), Frank van Tijn (v, dr, to OPMC) and Dick Pels (g, ex-Guardians, to Dean Allen Set).  In 1969, Peter left the group temporarily.  Serpentine started accompanying Amos Tamela (ex-Mustang Soul) and Sandra Reemer.

Peter then recorded a single for Polydor with his new group Blech, featuring: Fije Jasky (dr), Ton Jasky (b), Theo Andriessen (p), Ad le Conte (o).  Nevertheless, the single was released under the name Serpentine, because Peter had soon returned to his old band.  The line-up was then narrowed down to: Peter van der Sande (v, b), Onno Lopulalan (g), Frank van Tijn (v, dr) and Ralf Dragstra (o, p).  Band members also did a lot of session work - for California License, Big Boy & Bouncers and OPMC, amongst others.  On account of legal reasons, later records were released under the moniker Apartment One.  Serpentine fell apart in 1970, Peter joined Focus.

"Open House" released through Pink Elephant label, and it's a mixture of prog psych rock with some blues and country references.  
1. Step Inside (Onny Lopulalan, Ralf Dragstra) - 4:10
2. Fuzz Buzz (Robbie Dale, Peter Van Der Sande) - 2:51
3. Eternal Moralist (Robbie Dale, Peter Van Der Sande) - 3:04
4. Dictionary (Robbie Dale, Peter Van Der Sande) - 2:24
5. Summer Term (Peter Van Der Sande) - 3:49
6. Dragstream (Onny Lopulalan, Ralf Dragstra) - 3:07
7. Like A Queen (Robbie Dale, Peter Van Der Sande) - 3:08
8. Going Up Town (Peter Van Der Sande) - 3:05
9. Try And Bye A Try (Robbie Dale, Peter Van Der Sande) - 3:15
10.What's Going On (Peter Van Der Sande) - 3:35

The Apartment One
*Frank Van Tijn - Drums, Vocals
*Peter Van Der Sande - Vocals, Guitar, Cello, Organ, Bass
*Bob De Laat - Saxophone
*Dick Pels - Guitar
*Patrick Verboom - Trumpet
*Ralf Dragstra - Keyboards, Trombone
*Rob Morel - Bass
*Onny Lopulalan - Guitar

Free Text
Just Paste