Friday, February 25, 2022

The Cates Gang - Wanted (1970 us, elegant mix of r 'n' b country folk swamp rock, with brass section, 2021 remaster)

When Earl and Earnie Cate forned their first band in Springdale in the early 60;s, they called themselves the Del Rays. By 1970they were The Cates Gang, regulars this on the Dickinson Street and frat party circuit in Fayetteville, and MetroMedia label had issues their first album, "Wanted".

"Wanted" is a fine album that really puts is all together musically on "If You Got The Time (I Got The Love)", with some delicate but exciting rhythms "Song Man" and "Leavin' This Town", are also good, while message type songs like "We All Got To Help Each Other", and "When Will We Learn" have programming strength and could happen.
1. We All Got To Help Each Other - 2:35
2. God Gave Me A Woman - 2:35
3. Song Man - 2:22
4. Leavin' This Town - 3:00
5. Lead Me Anywhere - 2:36
6. When Will We Learn - 2:17
7. I'll Take You Back Again - 1:52
8. What's The Use In Lovin' You - 2:30
9. I've Made Up My Mind - 2:38
10.Help Me Work It Out, Woman - 2:22
11.If You Got The Time (I Got The Love) - 2:14
All songs by Earl Cate, Ernie Cate  

The Cates Gang
*Earl Cate - Guitar, Vocals
*Ernie Cate - Keyboards, Vocals 
*Terry Cagle - Drums, Percussion
*Billy Wright - Bass