Sunday, February 11, 2024

Yesterday's Children - Yesterday's Children (1970 us, solid heavy blues psych rock, 2001 akarma hard sleeve edition)

This elegant CD reissues the sole album by this obscure Connecticut group who recorded this one LP and a classic psychedelic garage punk single which appears on the Psychedelic Unknowns compilation. While the debut single was classic beat garage of the period 1966, by the 1969 album the group expanded into more hard rock and progressive styles -- and this album is drenched in the lead guitar blitz of Reggie Wright. The group was led by brothers Denis Croce on guitar and Richard Croce on vocals, and Chuck Maher and Ralph Muscatelli on bass and drums. The group is not to be confused with a Chicago-area group of the same name and era who appeared on the Pebbles box set. The reissue on Italian obscure specialist label Akarma is a stunning object to behold and an audiophile remaster of this underground classic. 
by Dean McFarlane
1. Paranoia - 4:42
2. Sad Born Loser - 4:30
3. What Of I (Richard Porter) - 4:03
4. She's Easy - 6:57
5. Sailing - 7:38
6. Providence Bummer - 4:09
7. Evil Woman (Larry Weiss) - 3:20
8. Hunter's Moon - 6:11
All songs by Chuck Maher, Dennis Croce, Ralph Muscatelli, Reggie Wright, Richard Croce except where indicated

Yesterday's Children
*Dennis Croce - Lead Vocals
*Richard Croce - Rhythm Guitar
*Reggie Wright - Lead Guitar
*Chuck Maher - Bass Guitar
*Ralph Muscatelli - Drums