Thursday, August 18, 2022

Zzebra - Panic (1975 nigeria / ghana / uk, a driving, funky amalgam with much rhythmic persistence and a full-blooded exciting big-band)

Zzebra were at the forefront of mid 70's progressive rock that threw jazz, rock, and African rhythms into a huge fusion blender. Created by an amalgamation of two important figures: the saxophonist Dave Quincy from IF, and the Nigerian flautist and saxophonist Lasisi 'Loughty' Amao from Osibisa, Zzebra, joined then by Tommy Eyre, John McCoy Liam Genockey, Alan Marshall and the only 17-year old guitarist Steve Byrd.

Panic is the second studio album of the band recorded during the summer of 1975 and includes, among the others, the highly inventive instrumental interpretation of 'You've Lost That Loving Feeling', the atmospheric 'Liamo', the groovy 'Put A Light On Me', and concludes its journey with the killer tracks 'Return To Forever' and 'La Si Si-La So So'.
1. Panic (John McCoy) - 4:41
2. You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling (Barry Mann, Cynthia Weil, Phil Spector) - 6:22
3. Karrola (Dave Quincey) - 4:06
4. Liamo (Dave Quincey, Loughty Amao) - 6:05
5. Death By Drowning (Tommy Eyre) - 3:03
6. Tree (Dave Quincey, Trevor Preston) - 6:09
7. Put A Light On Me (Kim Moore, Liam Genockey) - 5:07
8. La Si Si-La So So (Dave Quincey, Loughty Amao) - 5:20

*Dave Quincey - Alto, Tenor, Soprano Sax, Piano, Clavinet 
*Alan  Marshall - Vocals
*Steve Byrd - Guitar 
*Loughty Amao - Conga Drums, Baritone, Tenor Sax, Flute, Vocals
*Liam Genockey - Drums, Percussion, Vocals
*John McCoy - Bass
*Tommy Eyre - Vocals, Piano, Keyboards
*Jo Newman, Kim Moore, Lesley Duncan - Vocals