Monday, September 15, 2014

Rupert Hine - Pick Up A Bone (1971 uk, spectacular orchestrated sophisticated progressive folk rock)

Although also a recording artist in his own right, Rupert Hine earned perhaps his greatest recognition as one of the most successful and prolific producers of the synth pop era. As half of the duo Rupert & David, he made his recording debut at the age of 16 with the 1965 single "The Sound of Silence"; it was not a success, and so he maintained a low profile until 1971, venturing out as a solo performer with the LP Pick Up a Bone. 

After issuing his second solo effort, 1973's Unfinished Picture, Hine turned to production with Kevin Ayers' Confessions of Dr. Dream. In 1976 he began fronting the trio Quantum Jump, debuting that year with a self-titled album and releasing the follow-up Barracuda a year later. Around 1978 he began accepting more and more production work, helming albums from Anthony Phillips, the Members, and Camel, guiding the latter to their most commercially successful effort, I Can See Your House from Here. 
by Jason Ankeny
1. Landscape - 5:14
2. Ass All - 3:39
3. Me You Mine - 5:24
4. Scarecrow - 3:29
5. Kerosene - 7:32
6. Running Away - 4:57
7. Medicine Munday - 3:20
8. More Than One, Less Then Five - 4:14
9. Boo Boo's Faux Pas - 6:28
10.Pick Up A Bone (Rupert Hine, Simon Jeffes) - 3:51
11.Instant Muse - 1:28
All compositions by Rupert Hine, David MacIver except where stated

*Rupert Hine - Vocals, Guitar, Harmonica
*Simon Jeffes - Acoustic, Electric, Slide Guitars
*David MacIver - Guitar
*Peter Robinson - Piano, Organ
*Pete Morgan - Acoustic, Electric Bass
*Terry Cox - Drums
*Clive Hicks, Eric Ford, Joe Moretti - Guitars
*Steve Hammond - Electric Guitar, Banjo
*Paul Buckmaster - Electric Cello
*Eddie Mordue, Roy Willox - Sax, Flute
*Raul Mayora - Congas, Bells
*Roger Glover - Tambourine
*Barry de Sousa - Drums

Free Text

Kingdom Come - Kingdom Come (1972 uk, essential heavy experimental prog, 2005 japan issue)

1971's Galactic Zoo Dossier, Arthur Brown's first album with his new band Kingdom Come proved that he still had more great material to give us. So a year later, he decided to record a second album, called Kingdom Come. By this point VCS-3 synthesizer player Julian Paul Brown and bassist Desmond Fisher left, replaced by new bassist Phil Shutt. The rest of the band at this point consisted of Arthur Brown on vocals, of course, guitarist/vocalist Andy Dalby, keyboardist Michael "Goodge" Harris, and drummer Martin "Slim" Steer. 

The album starts off with "Water",  the Mellotron makes its first appearance (something you'll hear much more on their following album, Journey, where American-born Victor Peraino used plenty of it). Luckily the album gets much better with the wonderful ballad "Love is a Spirit" and the ever eccentric "City Medoly". A lot of this stuff can get pretty unpredictable, especially the second half of "City Medoly". 

Perhaps the most absurd song on this album is "Experiment". Parts of this song sounds a little bit like Emerson, Lake & Palmer, where there's another part where Andy Dalby does the singing and it ends up sounding a bit like Traffic's "40,000 Headmen". Then Arthur Brown starts talking about bowel movements with the sound of someone having diarrhea. I could hardly believe I heard something that crude, not even Frank Zappa could think of something that crude in his music. 
by Ben Miler
1. Water - 8:10
2. Love Is The Spirit (J. P. Brown) - 4:19
3. City Melody 06:10
4. Trafic Light Song - 2:43
5. The Teacher (Kingdom Come, Vincent Crane) - 1:54
6. The Experiment 07:25
7. The Whirlpool - 4:17
8. The Hymn (Andy Dalby) - 8:51
9. Traffic Light Song - 2:41
10.The Hymn - 5:58
11.The Experiment - 8:47
All compositions by Kingdom Come except where indicated

Kingdom Come
*Arthur Brown - Lead Vocals
*Phil Shutt - Bass
*Andy Dalby - Guitar
*Michael Harris - Keyboards
*Martin Steer - Drums

Free Text
Text Host