Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Gygafo - Legend Of The Kingfisher (1973-74 uk, prog folk rock with psych shades)

For 1973, British group Gygafo's only album is somewhat of an anomaly as it sounds quite like a psych-rock album from a few years earlier with the fuzz guitar and organ. But despite the 60's tonal qualities, Gygafo also show the prediliction for structural complexity as initially portrayed on the album's second track, "A Room With a View," that trades between a whimsical progression and a more aggressive classical rock section. 

And, in fact, it is this threshold betwixt late 60's psych and embryonic progressive rock that Gygafo pirouette around throughout . . .These phases are particularly distinct on the long side one-ending, three-song suite, "Waiting for the Rain/Entering Winds of Long Ago/Season's Weather (Coming Home)," although once the first half of the album is through, Gygafo keep solidly to a whimsical, late 60s, bay area, psychedelic influenced rock. 

In conclusion “ The Legend of the Kingfishers” Is a fair prog rock with some folk and hard rock influences, including some sinuous ebb-and-flow guitar lines, well worked-out vocal harmonies, haunting melodic figures, and classically flavored keyboard passages. 
1. Solid Man Song - 3:54
2. A Room with a View - 5:35
3. Waiting for the Rain/Entertaining Winds of Long Ago/Season's Weather (Comning Home) - 12:07
4. And a Timne Tot Hink (Box 1) - 4:43
5. Today I Am - 5:44
6. The Legend of the Kingfisher - 9:56
7. What You Don't Know (Won't Hurt You) - 8:49
8. Nineteen Eighty Four - 5:18
All songs by Gygafo.

*John Atkinson - Vocals, Guitar, Mandolin, Flute, Glockenspiel
*Paul Kent - Bass
*Pete Nickson - Drums, Percussion
*Charlie Speed - Guitar, Vocals
*Eddie Stringer - Keyboards, Piano, Vocals

Free Text
Just Paste