Sunday, September 9, 2018

Bread - The Elektra Years The Complete Albums Box (1969-77 us, wonderful silky rock, 2017 six discs box set)

Bread was one of the most popular pop groups of the early '70s, earning a string of well-crafted, melodic soft rock singles, all of which were written by keyboardist/vocalist David Gates. A session musician and producer, Gates met in 1968 guitarist/vocalist James Griffin, who had already released a solo album called Summer Holiday. Griffin hired Gates to produce a new album, and the pair soon became a group, adding guitarist/vocalist Robb Royer from the band Pleasure Fair, who Gates had produced early in its career. The trio soon signed with Elektra Records, becoming one of the label's first pop bands. Naming themselves Bread, the group released its self-titled debut album in late 1968. Although it was filled with accessible, melodic soft rock that became the band's signature sound, the record had no hit singles. 

With their second album, On the Waters, Bread established themselves as hitmakers. "Make It With You," the first single released from the album, became a number one hit, which led to "It Don't Matter to Me," a song taken from Bread, becoming a Top Ten hit. With On the Waters becoming a gold record, the group embarked on a tour, adding a full-time drummer, Mike Botts, to the lineup. Manna, released in the spring of 1971, wasn't as big a hit as the previous record, yet it launched another Top Ten hit with "If." Royer left the group after the album and was replaced by Larry Knechtel, a Los Angeles session musician who played on records by the Byrds, the Beach Boys, and the Monkees, among others. The new lineup released its first single, "Mother Freedom," in the summer of 1971; the single scraped the Top 40 at number 37. Bread's next single, "Baby I'm-a Want You," became a number three hit at the end of the year. After "Everything I Own" reached number five in January of 1972, an album called Baby I'm-a Want You was released. Peaking at number three, the record became the group's most successful album. The group's fifth album, Guitar Man, followed in the fall of 1972. 

At the beginning of 1973, Bread disbanded after a dispute between Gates and Griffin. Griffin claimed that, when the group was conceived, the pair agreed that the singles would be divided equally between the two songwriters; Gates wrote most of Bread's hits and wanted to continue to compose the singles. The two parted ways, with each of the musicians pursuing solo careers. Bread reunited in 1976, releasing Lost Without Your Love in early 1977. The title track became their last Top Ten hit, peaking at number nine. The success could not keep the group together as tensions between Gates and Griffin began to escalate again. After Griffin split from the group, Gates assembled a new version of the band and toured under the name Bread. Griffin sued Gates for using the name, which the duo co-owned. A judge ordered the group not to perform, record, or collect royalty payments until the case was resolved; it wasn't resolved until 1984. In the meantime, Gates and Griffin pursued solo careers. Of the two musicians, Gates was more successful, scoring a number 15 hit in 1978 with the title theme to Goodbye Girl. However, his career declined in the '80s; by the '90s, he was running a California ranch. Griffin relocated to Nashville, forming Dreamer with Randy Meisner in the early '90s. 
by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

The band’s incredible success with a new boxed set that includes all six of Bread’s studio albums, the collection concludes with Bread’s 1977 reunion album, Lost Without Your Love. The title track stands as the group’s sixth and final Top 10 hit.
Disc 1 Bread 1969
1. Dismal Day (David Gates) - 2:19
2. London Bridge (David Gates) - 2:30
3. Could I (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 3:30
4. Look At Me (David Gates) - 2:42
5. The Last Time  (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 4:10
6. Any Way You Want Me  (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 3:12
7. Move Over (James Griffin) - 2:35
8. Don't Shut Me Out (David Gates) - 2:39
9. You Can't Measure The Cost (David Gates) - 3:21
10.Family Doctor (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 2:13
11.It Don't Matter To Me (David Gates) - 2:41
12.Friends And Lovers  (James Griffin, Robb Royer, Tim Hallinan) - 3:51
Disc 2 On The Waters 1970
1. Why Do You Keep Me Waiting (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 2:29
2. Make It With You (David Gates) - 3:15
3. Blue Satin Pillow (David Gates) - 2:26
4. Look What You've Done (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 3:10
5. I Am That I Am (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 3:18
6. Been Too Long On The Road (David Gates) - 4:49
7. I Want You With Me (David Gates, James Griffin) - 2:48
8. Coming Apart (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 3:25
9. Easy Love (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 2:26
10.In The Afterglow (David Gates) - 2:34
11.Call On Me (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 4:00
12.The Other Side Of Life (David Gates) - 2:02
Disc 3 Manna 1971
1. Let Your Love Go (David Gates) - 2:25
2. Take Comfort (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 3:32
3. Too Much Love (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 2:45
4. If (David Gates) - 2:33
5. Be Kind To Me (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 3:03
6. He's A Good Lad (David Gates) - 2:57
7. She Was My Lady (David Gates) - 2:50
8. Live In Your Love (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 2:46
9. What A Chance (David Gates) - 3:38
10.I Say Again (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 2:52
11.Come Again (David Gates) - 4:01
12.Truckin' (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 2:31
Disc 4 Baby I'm-A Want You 1972
1. Mother Freedom (David Gates) - 2:55
2. Baby I'm-A Want You (David Gates) - 2:25
3. Down On My Knees (David Gates. James Griffin) - 2:44
4. Everything I Own (David Gates) - 3:06
5. Nobody Like You (David Gates, James Griffin, Larry Knechtel) - 3:11
6. Diary (David Gates) - 3:05
7. Dream Lady (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 3:23
8. Daughter (David Gates) - 3:21
9. Games Of Magic (Robb Royer) - 3:09
10.This Isn't What The Governmeant (David Gates) - 2:25
11.Just Like Yesterday (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 2:35
12.I Don't Love You (James Griffin) - 2:50
Disc 5 Guitar Man 1972
1. Welcome To The Music (David Gates) - 2:58
2. The Guitar Man (David Gates) - 3:55
3. Make It By Yourself (James Griffin, David Gates) - 3:48
4. Aubrey (David Gates) - 3:38
5. Fancy Dancer (James Griffin, Mike Botts) - 3:31
6. Sweet Surrender (David Gates) - 2:35
7. Tecolote (David Gates) - 4:34
8. Let Me Go (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 3:26
9. Yours For Life (David Gates) - 3:20
10.Picture In Your Mind (Larry Knechtel) - 4:40
11.Don't Tell Me No (James Griffin, Robb Royer) - 3:33
12.Didn't Even Know Her Name (James Griffin, David Gates) - 3:09
Disc 6 Lost Without Your Love 1977
1. Hooked On You (David Gates) - 2:18
2. She's The Only One (Robb Royer, James Griffin) - 3:00
3. Lost Without Your Love (David Gates) - 2:56
4. Change Of Heart (David Gates, James Griffin) - 3:18
5. Belonging (David Gates) - 3:17
6. Fly Away (Robb Royer, James Griffin) - 3:05
7. Lay Your Money Down (David Gates) - 2:41
8. The Chosen One (David Gates) - 4:40
9. Today's The First Day (Robb Royer, James Griffin) - 3:24
10.Hold Tight (David Gates) - 3:05
11.Our Lady Of Sorrow (Robb Royer, James Griffin) - 4:14

The Bread
*David Gates - Bass, Organ, Percussion, Piano, Synthesizer, Viola, Violin, Vocals
*James Griffin - Guitar, Percussion, Piano, Vocals
*Robb Royer - Bass, Guitar, Keyboards, Percussion, Piano, Vocals
*Larry Knechtel - Bass, Harmonica, Keyboards, Organ, Piano
*Mike Botts - Drums, Percussion
*Jim Gordon - Drums

1973  Bread - The Best Of Bread (2015 SACD) 

Free Text
the Free Text