Wednesday, December 30, 2020

Mountain - Twin Peaks (1974 us, powerful hard rock, 2005 digi pak remaster)

Now this is more like it! Recorded in Osaka, Japan, in 1973, Twin Peaks was Mountain's second consecutive live album (with The Best of Mountain compilation between them), albeit featuring the re-formed, somewhat reconfigured version of the group, consisting of Leslie West (guitar, vocals), Felix Pappalardi (bass, vocals), Bob Mann (guitar, keyboards), and Allan Schwartzberg (drums). It overlaps with its predecessor, Mountain Live (The Road Goes Ever On) on only two cuts, "Crossroader" and "Nantucket Sleighride," and the latter is stretched out even further here than it was on the earlier album, to 32 minutes. 

The content ends up showing off the best attributes of Mountain such as "Theme from an Imaginary Western," "Mississippi Queen," "Never in My Life," "Roll Over Beethoven" and a long version of  "Nantucket Sleighride." But even the latter, at over half-an-hour, was precisely what audiences of the period were paying to see and hear, and captures the band's music in all of its excessive glory. Additionally, "Nantucket Sleighride" doesn't seem that long in the actual listening, mostly because it's difficult not to be impressed with the playing, especially the guitar dialogue between West and Mann. A worthy document of a Mountain concert at their summit.
by James Chrispell 
1. Never In My Life (Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, Gail Collins, Corky Laing) - 4:15
2. Theme For An Imaginary Western (Jack Bruce, Pete Brown) - 5:01
3. Blood On The Sun (Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, Gail Collins) - 3:07
4. Guitar Solo (Leslie West) - 5:34
5. Crossroader (Felix Pappalardi, Gail Collins) - 5:57
6. Mississippi Queen (Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, Corky Laing, David Rea) - 4:16
7. Silver Paper (Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, Gail Collins, George Gardos, Steve Knight, Corky Laing) - 6:15
8. Roll Over Beethoven (Chuck Berry) - 2:23
9. Nantucket Sleigh Ride (Part I) (Felix Pappalardi, Gail Collins) - 15:51
10.Nantucket Sleigh Ride (Conclusion) (Felix Pappalardi, Gail Collins) - 16:01
Recorded Live on August 30th 1973 at Koseinenkin Hall in Osaka Japan

*Leslie West - Guitar, Vocals
*Felix Pappalardi - Bass, Vocals, Production
*Bob Mann - Guitar, Keyboards
*Allan Schwartzberg - Drums

1970  Mountain - Climbing! (2013 blu spec edition) 
1971  Mountain - Nantucket Sleighride (2013 japan blu spec remaster)
Related Acts
1965-68  Vagrants - I Can't Make a Friend (2011 remaster)
1969  Leslie West - Mountain (Japanese edition)