Monday, October 3, 2022

Caravan - Live At The Fairfield Halls (1974 uk, brilliant prog rock, 2002 japan SHM remaster)

Documented during an era in which U.K. performances by Caravan were few and far between, Live at the Fairfield Halls 1974 is a brilliantly remastered and likewise complete presentation of a concert held just prior to their inaugural tour of North America. Although Caravan had been subjected to several key personnel and managerial alterations in the preceding months, once they hit the stage they shed any behind-the-scenes acrimony and were transformed into a stunning synergy of progressive and symphonic rock. This warm-up show took place on September 1, 1974, at Fairfield Hall in Croydon and was initially documented as a possible promotional tool for their upcoming stateside appearances. The tapes remained on deposit, seemingly forgotten, at the Decca studios storage facility in West Hampstead, U.K., until the stunning 19-minute "For Richard" was resurrected for inclusion on the two-LP Canterbury Tales compilation in 1976.

Enthusiasts who prefer the band's lineup and subsequent edgier tone, circa For Girls Who Grow Plump in the Night, will be doubly thrilled with this release as they re-create most of the album. Additionally, they wrap themselves around the crushing "Memory Lain, Hugh"/"Headloss" opener. Perhaps foreshadowing how powerful this rendition will be, the evening's proceedings fade in to the hovering resonation of Geoffrey Richardson's electric viola as he fiddles underneath the band's introduction. Caravan's most recent release concurrent to this performance is the equally impressive Caravan & the New Symphonia.

From that disc comes "Virgin on the Ridiculous" -- performed here by just the quintet. Although composed for the incorporation of an orchestra, this rendition is leaner and displays the band's almost conversational way of jamming and improvising. The transition into the "Be Alright Now" suite is seamless, and, under the thunder sticks of Richard Coughlan (drums), the band is propelled into one of the only live versions of the medley to have been professionally documented. With a well-deserved nod to the "New Symphonia," Live at the Fairfield Halls 1974 will perhaps become the quintessential live Caravan release. The sound is crisp and the stereo image is direct and very warm. This disc is highly recommended for newly found fans as well as the more seasoned consumer.
by Lindsay Planer
1. Memory Lain, Hugh / Headloss - 9:27
2. Virgin On The Ridiculous - 7:14
3. Be Alright / Chance Of A Lifetime - 6:37
4. The Love In Your Eye (Richard Coughlan, Pye Hastings, Dave Sinclair, Richard Sinclair) - 15:23
5. L'Auberge Du Sanglier / A Hunting We Shall Go / Pengola / Backwards / A Hunting We Shall Go (Reprise) (Pye Hastings, Mike Ratledge) - 9:49
6. The Dog The Dog He's At It Again - 6:23
7. For Richard (Richard Coughlan, Pye Hastings, Dave Sinclair, Richard Sinclair) - 19:01
8. Hoedown - 5:58
All compositions by Pye Hastings except where indicated

*Pye Hastings - Guitar, Lead Vocals
*David Sinclair - Hammond Organ, Electric Piano, Synthesizer
*Geoffrey Richardson - Viola
*Mike Wedgwood - Bass, Backing Vocals
*Richard Coughlan - Drums

1971  Caravan - In The Land Of Grey And Pink (Japan SHM remaster)
1973  Caravan - For Girls Who Grow Plump In The Night (Japan SHM remaster)
1974  Caravan - Caravan And The New Symphonia (Japan SHM remaster)
1975  Caravan - Cunning Stunts (Japan remaster)
Related Acts