Tuesday, September 20, 2022

Alan Hull - Squire (1975 uk, a wonderful crash, through with its dryly humorous lyrics, to the bluesy rock boom and flavored air melodies, 2013 bonus tracks remaster)

A talented, versatile and prolific musician, Alan Hull rose to prominence with Tyneside folk rockers Lindisfarne, and in 1973 released a Top 30 solo album, Pipedream. Released two years later, the follow-up Squire was written as the soundtrack to the TV play by Tyneside playwright Tom Pickard, broadcast in 1974 with Hull playing the lead role on screen. His character, Alfy, is an unemployed Newcastle boy who has Walter Mitty-like fantasies about being wealthy (and how wonderful is the cover portraying that?).

Produced by Hull at Morgan Studios, the album still sounds exquisite and crystal clear. Shades of The Kinks, solo Lennon and early ELO imbue the mid-tempo title track, rock’n’roller Nuthin’ Shakin’ and heartbreaking One More Bottle Of Wine.

While it’s not a prog album per se, the Mellotron on instrumental I’m Sorry Squire pins it to its mid 70s period and, themed around Pickard’s play, it might even qualify as a concept album of sorts. Regardless, Hull (who died 20 years later, aged just 50) was firing on all cylinders here.
by GRM, September 25, 2013
1. Squire - 5:08
2. Dan The Plan - 4:20
3. Picture A Little Girl - 2:43
4. Nuthin' Shakin' (Cirino Colacrai, Diane Lampert, Eddie Fontaine, Johnny Gluck) - 3:45
5. One More Bottle Of Wine - 4:14
6. Golden Oldies - 3:57
7. I'm Sorry Squire - 3:57
8. Waiting - 3:43
9. Bad Side Of Town - 3:56
10.Mr. Inbetween - 2:37
11.The End - 0:41
12.Crazy Woman - 3:00
13.Carousel - 2:59
All compositions by Alan Hull except where noted
Bonus Tracks 12-13

*Alan Hull - Guitar, Keyboards, Percussion, Vocals
*Brian Chatton - Keyboards
*Kenny Craddock - Guitar, Keyboards, Percussion, Vocals
*Lesley Duncan - Vocals
*Colin Gibson - Bass, Percussion
*Ray Jackson - Harmonica, Mandolin
*Ray Laidlaw - Drums
*Albert Lee - Electric Guitar
*Micky Moody - Electric Guitar
*Joanna Newman - Vocals
*Terry Popple - Drums
*Jean Roussel - Keyboards 

1973  Alan Hull - Pipedream (2005 remaster and expanded)