Wednesday, March 16, 2022

Green Lyte Sunday - Green Lyte Sunday (1970 us, magnificent soulful psych rock)

Green Lyte Sunday formed in 1968 when bassist James Wyatt and keyboardist Michael Losekamp hired guitarist Jason Hollinger, reedist Fly Barlow, drummer Rick Kalb, and singer Susan Darby.

Wyatt and Losekamp hailed from Dayton, Ohio, garage rockers Mark V, which issued two singles in 1967: the speedy fuzz/farfisa rocker “Hey Conductor” (b/w “You Bring These Tears to Me,” a crooning baritone ballad with silvery organ) and the Rascals-style soul rocker “Can’t Buy My Soul” (b/w “When I Close My Eyes”). Losekamp briefly joined Pennsylvanian posters The Cyrkle for their 1967 second album Neon. 

In 1969, Green Lyte Sunday cut a standalone single for small-press King, “She’s My Lover” (b/w “Lenore”). Their singular album appeared on RCA Victor in 1970. It features six Losekamp originals, including “Glen Helen,” “Happy Happy,” and “What Makes Him Happy.” The side 2 centerpiece, “High Up in the Sky,” is a Losekamp/Hollinger co-write. Green Lyte Sunday also includes compositions by Joni Mitchell (“Chelsea Morning”) and Laura Nyro (“Emmie,” “Woman’s Blues”).

Green Lyte Sunday was recorded at RCA’s Music Center of the World studios in Los Angeles. The album was produced by one Peter Shelton and engineered by Grover Helsley (Myrth, Harry Nilsson, Ivar Avenue Reunion, Friends of Distinction). US copies came in a gatefold sleeve with a psychedelic stained-glass illustration of the band on a green lamp (front and back). The innerfold features lyrics and a b&w photo of each member. “Chelsea Morning” and “Emmie” were paired for an RCA 7″.

Losekamp sang backing vocals on a 2013 reunion disc by southern rockers Dixie Peach.
1. Happy Happy - 3:50
2. If You Want To Be Free - 2:35
3. Emmie (Laura Nyro) - 4:20
4. Glen Helen - 4:44
5. Woman's Blues (Laura Nyro) - 3:41
6. Lenore - 2:07
7. Chelsea Morning (Joni Mitchell) - 3:44
8. High Up In The Sky (Michael Losekamp, Jason Hollinger) - 4:20
9. What Makes Him Happy - 4:40
10.My Own Time - 5:35
All songs by Michael Losekamp except where stated

Green Lyte Sunday
*Susan Darby - Vocals  
*Michael Losekamp - Vocals, Keyboards 
*Fly Barlow - Woodwinds, Saxophone  
*Jason Hollinger - Guitar 
*Rick Kalb - Drums, Backing Vocals  
*James Wyatt - Bass