Sunday, October 9, 2016

Diamond Reo - Dirty Diamonds (1976 us, good hard rock, 2012 remaster)

Franki Cruzi, Bubs McKeg, Norman Nardini, Robbie Johns formed the band Diamond Reo in 1974.  Bubs and Cruzi had been band mates in an earlier band called the Igniters that had release a single on Atlantic records in 1968.  When the Igniters broke up in 1970 Bubs joined the Navy and Frankie Cruzi joined the Jaggerz.  Fresh from his Navy gig in 1974 Bugs was ready to rock again.  Working with producer Tom Cossie Diamond Reo recorded a demo tape at East Liberty's Red Fox Studio and sent it off to Atlantic Records.  The Atlantic subsidiary Big Tree Records released Diamond Reo’s first album “Diamond Reo” in 1975.  Scoring a top 40 hit with a version of the Marvin Gaye song, "Ain't That Peculiar" the band launched a national tour. They appeared on Dick Clark's "American Bandstand" and performed with Kiss, Aerosmith, Ted Nugent, Frank Zappa, Kansas, Ian Hunter, Blue Oyster Cult, and Canned Heat. 

Adding guitarist Warren King to the band Diamond Reo released the "Dirty Diamonds" album in 1976 on Kama Sutra.  Nardini, Czuri, and Warren King, co-wrote most of the music on that release.  Diamond Rio recorded their last album "Ruff Cuts" on the Piccadilly label in 1978.  The group disbanded later 1978 as punk and new wave were emerging.

Frank Czuri in 1979 joined with Warren King, drummer Ron "Byrd" Foster from the Igniters, bass guitarist Mike Pela, and keyboard player Dennis Takos to form the Silencers.  Working with producer Tom Cossie, the released two album releases on the CBS Precision label.  Norm Nardini formed his own band “Norm Nardini and the Tigers” and landed a deal with CBS Records.
1. All Over You - 3:55
2. It Ain't What You Do It's What You Do - 3:20
3. Scratch My Back - 4:28
4. Mamma Let Your Love - 4:25
5. It's A Jungle Out There (Norman Nardini, Frank Zuri, Rob Jones) - 3:11
6. Lover Boy - 3:47
7. Power (Wes King, Norman Nardini, Frank Zuri, Rob Jones) - 4:37
8. Bad News (Wes King, Norman Nardini, Frank Zuri, Rob Jones) - 3:32
9. Boys Will Be Boys - 3:50
10.Helter Skelter (John Lennon, Paul McCartney) - 3:33
All songs by Norman Nardini, Frank Zuri except where noted

The Diamond Reo
*Norman Nardini - Vocals, Bass
*Warren King - Guitars
*Frank Zuri - Keyboards
*Rob Jones - Drums

Free Text
Text Bin