Friday, December 15, 2023

Winterhawk - There And Back Again Live At The Aragon (1978-79 us, exciting hard rock, 2002 remaster)

Not to confused with the San Francisco's native band, these guys came out of the Windy City. Before they regrouped to record their timeless classic "Revival" album in 1982 they were stunning audiences during their late 70s prime opening shows for acts like Budgie, Black Oak Arkansas, Steppenwolf and others. We struck gold when we unearthed this wonderful 1978 recording of Winterhawk at their peak during a headlining gig at Chicago's infamous Aragon Ballroom! You'll hear guitarist Jordan Macarus at the top of his game, dealing out endless mounds of mindblowing fretwork! Previously unreleased Winterhawk classics like 'Off the Bat,' 'There and Back Again,' 'Creatures of the Sea,' 'In the Wake of Things Yet to Come' plus live versions of 'Free to Live,' 'Sanctuary' and more.

"For those of you un-enlightened to the guitar talents of Jordan Macarus, this live CD will be a revelation for you. The guitar work is stunning, the songs are perfect and bring to mind the twin lead stylings of Wishbone Ash and even in parts reminds of a what a 70's version Iron Maiden might have been" - 
Shroom Records
1. Sanctuary (Jordan Macarus, Doug Brown) - 5:27
2. In The Wake Of Things Yet To Come (Jordan Macarus) - 8:40
3. Hammer And The Axe (Jordan Macarus) - 6:41
4. Creatures Of The Sea (Jordan Macarus) - 13:08
5. Off The Bat (Jordan Macarus) - 8:18
6. Interlude (Jordan Macarus, Steve Tsokatos) - 1:15
7. There And Back Again (Jordan Macarus) - 9:23
8. Drum Solo (Steve Tsokatos) - 1:25
9. Free To Live (Jordan Macarus) - 10:10
10.Bad Influence (Jordan Macarus) - 4:35
11.Too Much Of Nothin' (Steve Tsokatos, Doug Brown) - 4:08

*Jordan Macarus - Vocals, Guitar
*Doug Brown - Bass, Vocals, Guitar
*Steve Tsokatos - Drums, Percussion, Vocals
*Steve Brown - Guitar, Vocals (Tracks 1-9)
*Dan Sealight - Guitar (Track 10)