Monday, February 29, 2016

Tramp - Put A Record On (1974 uk, elegant classic bluesy funky rock, 2007 Japan remaster)

Recording sessions involving musicians who do not regularly work together can be notoriously unproductive, the shelves of second hand record shops are littered with dusty remnants of what might have been a great session.

Happily 'Tramp' is a very fine exception to this rule, perhaps because although there is plenty of creative and spontaneous playing on these tracks, the songs themselves, written by Bob Hall and Dennis Cotton, are economical, witty and tightly constructed; there are no twelve minute guitar solos on this record. Every musician contributed hugely to the overall strength of performance that is obvious throughout the set. Dave and Jo-Anne Kelly are renowned for their ability as blues singers, and they tackled each song whole-heartedly, often adding new ideas whilst actually recording. 

Bob Hall is surely the finest boogie pianist in Britain, and has never played better than on these sessions. Bob Brunning is also a highly experienced bass player who has worked and recorded with many blues giants, forming a unit with Bob Hall which has become much in demand by impressed visiting American performers, many of whom have invited them back to the States to form a permanent band! Mick Fleetwood has been the mainstay of Fleetwood Mac for a long time, and when one listens to this exciting playing on this album, one can see why - listen to his inspired and absolutely spontaneous drum lead in during the entirely unrehearsed piano break in 'Too Late For That Now' which leads incidentally to one of the most exciting solos heard in a long while. 

Danny Kirwan plays crisply and economically, showing his ability, unusual among rock guitarists - to know when not to play, nevertheless turning in some pleasing solos. Dave Brooks proves just how easily he recently stole the show on some of the '73 American Blues Legends performances, and last but not least, percussionist Ian Morton adds a lot of excitement to the proceedings. Here then is a fresh and exciting album representing of more than worthwhile gathering together of some well known musical 'Tramps'.
1. Too Late For That Now (Bob Hall) - 4:53
2. Now I Aint A Junkie Anymore (Dennis Cotton, Bob Hall, Dave Kelly) - 3:07
3. What You Gonna Do (Bob Brunning, Dennis Cotton, Bob Hall) - 3:02
4. Like You Used To Do (Dennis Cotton, Bob Hall) - 4:04
5. You Gotta Move (Bob Hall, Dave Kelly) - 2:38
6. Put A Record On (Bob Hall, Dennis Cotton) - 3:17
7. Funky Money (Dennis Cotton, Bob Hall, Dave Kelly) - 5:43
8. Beggar By Your Side (Dennis Cotton, Bob Hall) - 3:38
9. Maternity Orders (Keep On Rolling In) (Bob Hall, Dennis Cotton) - 2:24
10.It's Over (Bob Hall) - 2:31

The Tramp
*Mick Fleetwood - Drums
*Danny Kirwan - Guitar
*Dave Brooks - Sax
*Dave Kelly - Vocal
*Jo Anne Kelly - Vocal
*Bob Brunning - Bass
*Bob Hall - Piano
*Ian Morton - Percussion

1969  Tramp - Tramp (Japan remaster)

Free Text
Just Paste