Monday, December 3, 2012

The Hook - Hooked (1968 us, prime heavy psych with funky blasts)

Formed in Los Angeles, California, USA, in 1967 by former Leaves guitarist Bobby Arlin, Hook also consisted of Buddy Sklar (bass) and Craig Boyd (drums). Will Grab You showed little of the folk/rock style Arlin’s previous group was noted for, offering instead power-trio heavy rock. 

The departure of Boyd in 1968 prompted a re-think which saw former Grass Roots keyboard player Danny Provisor and new drummer Dale Loyola drafted into the line-up. Hook offered a more polished style but, as neither release was a commercial success, Arlin folded the band the following year. He subsequently became a booking agent in Orange County, California. 
1. Go (Provisor) - 3:10
2. You’re Lookin’ Fine (Davies) - 3:50
3. There’s Magic In the Air (Arlin, Sklar) - 2:20
4. Son Of Fantasy II (Arlin, Sklar) - 6:00
5. Hook Can Cook (Arlin, Sklar) - 3:07
6. Love Theme In E Major (Arlin, Sklar) - 2:10
7. A Beautiful Tomorrow (Arlin, Sklar) - 2:21
8. You Need People (Arlin, Sklar) - 3:30
9. All Around The World (Turner) - 3:17
10. You Don’t Have To Stay (Arlin, Sklar) - 2:42

The Hook
*Buddy Sklar - Bass Guitar, Vocals
*Dale Loyola - Drums, Vocals
*Bobby Arlin - Guitar, Vocals
*Dennis Provisor - Organ, Vocals

Free Text
Text Host