Saturday, February 16, 2013

Smoke - At George's Coffee Shop (1969 us, hard jagged blues rock, 2012 O-Music edition)

Originally known as The Nomands and based in Houston, Texas, they became known when they changed the band name to Smoke in mid-1968. Their music can best be described as “psychedelic boogie”. Semi-hard blues rock, loads of energy, jiving vocals, good guitar solos and powerful organ parts. “At George´s Coffee Shop” is a tad better than their debut, a lost treasure for the biker blues crowd.
1. The Room - 3:27
2. San Luis Obispo County Jail Blues - 5:52
3. Greased Lightnin' - 9:21
4. George (Pt.1) - 0:36
5. Brown Bread - 9:11
6. Iron House - 7:31
7. George (Pt.2) - 0:19

*John Orvis - Vocals, Guitar, Banjo
*Richard Floyd - Bass, Guitar, Vocals
*Eddie Beyer - Keyboards
*Earl Finn - Bass, Keyboards, Guitar
*Phil Parker - Drums

Free Text


  1. Both Smoke LPs ( originally released on UNI )are fine blues rock albums that deserve to be rediscovered.
    Thanks Rob and Marios for the memories.

  2. I know for a fact these guys were never from Houston texas. John Oris is my father in law.

    1. Please tell us the story of John Orvis. I'm listening to this cd now and need to know more. Brown Bread!!!!!!

      And thank you Marios for your dedicated crate digging. A lost treasure indeed.

  3. Thank you,
    it will be good to know where they came from..