Friday, October 4, 2013

Montes - Cuando Brille El Tiempo (1974 argentina, heavy trippy psych rock)

Reissue of classic rare psychedelic rock record from Argentina circa 1970. Very guitar-drenched in a Fraction kinda way, with westcoast overtones. Long tracks, stunnin hard guitar-odyssey effects, phased vocals, everything the mind boggles is here. Has nice surrealistic cover-art. 

Montes made one album, originals of which have been fed to the condors long time ago to keep them high and were not found. . Original pressings are rare as gold dust.
1. En El Caminos De Dios Hacia El Sol - 1:42
2. Arde Roma - 2:55
3. El Ascensor - 4:40
4. Hoy - 5:52
5. Arco Iris - 7:40
6. Fuera Del Sol - 4:16
7. Epilogo De Crossville - 4:31
8. Dias Despues - 1:32
All songs by J. Montes and Luis Miguel Montes.

*Jorge Montes - Guitar, Vocals
*Carlos Policastro - Vocals
*Alberto Oneto - Bass
*Carlos Salazar - Drums
Guest Musicians
*Eduardo Pitman - Drums
*Sergio Goffan - Keyboards
*Alex Suker - Bass

Free Text


  1. What a great deal,to have this blog in my favouritelist!
    Thanks 4 the lossless.

  2. After playing with the beat group Séptima Brigada, guitarist Jorge Montes formed Montes (originally called Montes Mahatma). He released an extremely rare and excellent single, with a superb b-side ("Un viaje al mar").

    Luis Miguel Montes (author of the cover) wrote all the songs of Cuando brille el tiempo, the debut album, a sort of tribute to Jimi Hendrix. With guests Sergio Goffar on electric piano, Eduardo Pipman on drums and Alejandro Zucker on bass, this record goes from psycho to progressive hard rock with a tremendous killer guitar!

    "En el camino de Dios hacia el sol" opens this remarkable LP, followed by the crazy wah-wah hard rock "Arde Roma", "El ascensor" and the melodic "Hoy (cuando brille el tiempo)" with a guitar full of effects and skills. Side b opens with "Arco Iris" that switches from the calm to the fury in minutes, followed by "Fuera del sol" (in a Pappo's Blues style). "Epílogo de Crossville" and "Días después" closes the album with lots of effects that remind the glorious Electric Ladyland. In short: a highly recommended guitar album, with excellent vocal work and solid rhythm section.

    Despite good critical reviews, the record went unnoticed and sold poorly. The group toured South America (something unusual at that time) and split. Jorge Montes played briefly with Pappo and later disappeared. It is said that he was killed in Ecuador in a drug-related event in the 80s. The LP( (Philips 6406020) is extremely rare and was never reissued on any format. Beware of counterfeits!

  3. just recollected this, so many thanks!! <3 :D :D :D