Saturday, July 6, 2013

Heaven And Earth - Refuge (1973 us, lovely sunny folk with angelic vocals)

 This reissue has been a long time coming, in no small part because we wanted it to be perfect. We’re happy to finally be able to announce the re-release of this psychedelic folk/funk beauty from 1973, featuring the gorgeous voices of Pat Gefell and Jo D. Andrews (and produced by Space Age percussionist/composer Dick Schory for his short-lived but influential Ovation Records imprint).

At one time this was an album completely unknown outside of Chicago, where the label was based; but these days, word gets around, and tracks like ‘Feel The Spirit’ and ‘Jenny’ have been making the rounds on the DJ circuit. No matter what your musical taste is—psych-folk, funk, soft rock—this LP seems to have something special to offer.

This is due in part to notable backing from veterans like bassist Phil Upchurch (Curtis Mayfield, Otis Rush, Stan Getz, Groove Holmes, and Cannonball Adderly), and space age pop maven Bobby Christian on drums and percussion. But primarily, the perfection that this album emanates is due to the clear voices and intelligent songs crafted by Gefell and Andrews.

The replica LP version (another fine collaboration between Lion Productions and Vintage Records) comes in an old style tip-on gatefold jacket with lyrics printed inside, and includes an insert packed with band history and rare photos. It is a quality vinyl pressing, newly mastered from the original tapes; the sad news: this LP version is limited to 750 copies.
Light In The Attic
1. Jenny (Jo D. Andrews, Pat Gefell) - 3:23
2. Voice In The Wind (Pat Gefell) - 2:40
3. To A Flame (Stephen Stills) - 2:33
4. Tomorrow Is A Long Time (Bob Dylan) - 4:14
5. Refuge (Jo D. Andrews, Pat Gefell) - 2:38
6. Sixty Years On (Elton John, Bernie Taupin) - 3:50
7. Song For Craig (Pat Gefell) - 2:51
8. Tell Me How To Know You (Jo D. Andrews, Pat Gefell) - 2:47
9. A Light Is Shining (Charles Chittenden, Jo D. Andrews) - 2:40
10. Feel The Spirit (Jo D. Andrews, Pat Gefell) - 4:47  
11. Voice In The Wind (Single Mix) - 2:36
12. Jenny (Single Mix) - 2:57
13. Home For Christmas - 2:58
14. Country Women - 2:28
15. We All Need A Friend - 1:57
16. You're The Reason - 2:28
17. Unknown - 2:58
18. Joy - 3:11
19. Jenny (Alternate Take) - 3:33
20. Voice In The Wind (Alternate Take) - 1:41
21. Refuge (Alternate Take) - 2:23
22. Song For Craig (Alternate Take) - 2:48
23. A Light Is Shining (Alternate Take) - 2:59
24. Country Women (Alternate Take) - 2:26
25. Hawg For You Baby - 2:11
Tracks 1-10 original album
Bonus Tracks 11-25

*Pat Gefell  - Guitars, Vocals
*Jo D. Andrews  - Vocals
*Charles Chittenden  - Guitars
*Bobby Christian  - Bongos, Congas, Percussion
*Jorge Dalto  - Clavinet, Piano
*Joseph Golan  - Violin
*Arthur Lauer  - Arp Echoplex, Flute
*Samuel Magad  - Strings
*Jerry Sabransky  - Strings
*William Schoen  - Strings
*Joseph Sciacchitano  - Strings
*Don Simmons  - Drums
*Fred Spector  - Strings
*Ron Steele  - Guitars
*Phil Upchurch  - Bass
*George Andrews  - Organ

Free Text
the Free Text