Tuesday, February 5, 2013

The Trashmen - Surfin' Bird (1963-64 us, enjoyable garage, surf, roots 'n' roll, 1st extra tacks Sundazed edition)

Hailing from the wintry heartland of Minneapolis, the Trashmen achieved cult immortality with a passel of landlocked surf anthems and reckless garage-rock gems, best exemplified by their immortal anthem "Surfin' Bird," two and a half minutes of inspired, unhinged mayhem that's never been equaled. But "Surfin' Bird" is just the tip of the iceberg of the 1964 album that bears the song's name. 

The only LP that the band released during their original lifespan, Surfin' Bird demonstrates that the Trashmen were no novelty act or one-hit wonder, but a brilliant, original outfit who filtered their R’n’B and surf influences through their own cheerfully demented sensibility to make some of their era's most reckless, uninhibited rock 'n' roll. In addition to the iconic "Surfin' Bird," the album features the surf-and-drag killers "King of the Surf," "My Woodie" and "Tube City," along with the "Bird"-themed sequels "Bird Bath" and "Bird Dance Beat." Elsewhere on the album, the Trashmen's surf-rock skills animate the instrumental standards "Misirlou," "Malagueña" and "Kuk," and the band delivers storming readings of Buddy Holly's "It's So Easy" and Barrett Strong's "Money (That's What I Want)."

Anyone who's ever been severely jolted by Trashmen anthems knows the unparalleled joy of flailing about helplessly to Tony Andreason's blistering guitar and the manic, rumbling vocals of drummer Steve Wahrer. If only Trashmen records had been loaded into that outward-bound rocket ship years ago, the galaxy would be a much safer place today!
1. Surfin' Bird (Frazier, White, Harris, Wilson) - 2:22
2. King Of The Surf (LaPole) - 2:28
3. Henrietta (Hitzfeld) - 2:33
4. Miserlou (Wise, Leeds, Roubanis, Russell) - 2:07
5. Malaguena (Lecuona) - 2:35
6. It's So Easy (Holly, Petty) - 2:04
7. Tube City (Wahrer) - 3:20
8. My Woodie (LaPole) - 1:54
9. Bird Bath (Darnold) - 2:36
10. Kuk (Demmon, Linsley, Gallagher, Fifield) - 2:04
11. Money (Gordie) - 3:10
12. Sleeper (LaPole) - 2:32
13. Surfin' Bird (Demo Version) (Frazier, White, Harris, Wilson) - 2:19
14. Bird Dance Beat (Demo Version) (Garrett) - 2:06
15. Walkin' My Baby (Mathis, Mathis) - 2:27
16. Dancin' With Santa (LaPole) - 2:31

The Trashmen
*Tony Andreason - Lead Guitar, Vocals,
*Dal Winslow - Guitar, Vocals,
*Steve Wahrer - Drums, Vocals,
*Bob Reed - Bass Guitar

Free Text


  1. This was one of the first full albums I ever bought on my own...usually my brother and I split the cost as our allowances didnt cover the $3.00 at the time of an album!
    Thanx for this although I personally am gonna convert to MP3...!

  2. thanks for sharing
    what is the password?