Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Ray Owen's Moon - Moon (1971 uk, effective heavy space psych rock)

Taken off his first and only seff-titled solo album, released in 1971. Ray Owen was the original vocalist in British outfit Juicy Lucy, and he appeared on their first self titled album in 1969. He left the band, his replacement being Paul Williams, and formed his own band, with Dick Stubbs and Les Nicol on guitars, Ian McLean on drums and Sid Gardner on bass. 

Their first and only album, which is quite rare and collectible, was released on Polydor Records, and it featured a number of really good riff laden tracks, in addition to a stunning version of Hendrix's "Voodoo Child", which Owen would redo in the mid 90's when he reformed his own version of Juicy Lucy. His career after Ray Owen's Moon is much of a mystery, as no record can be found of any other bands he may have featured with afterwards. 

As was mentioned, he reformed Juicy Lucy in the mid nineties and released an album called "Here she comes again" on HTD Records, with three unknown, but very good, musicians. For the record, Paul Williams also reformed another version of Juicy Lucy in the mid to late nineties, under the name "Blue Thunder".

1. Talk to Me - 5:30
2. Try My Love - 5:02
3. Hey Sweety - 2:36
4. Free Man - 3:01
5. Don't Matter - 6:10
6. Voodoo Child - 4:51
7. Ouiji - 4:59
8. Mississippi Woman - 5:32
9. 50 Years Older - 5:12
10.Outro - 0:48

Ray Owen's Moon
*Ray Owen - Vocals, Piano, Guitar
*Sid Gardner - Bass, Keyboards
*Les Nicol - Guitar
*Dick Stubbs - Guitar
*Ian Mclean - Drums

Free Text
Free Text II


  1. Thank you very much. I saw the album about 25 years ago but didn't get a chance to buy it. Thank you for the cool upload.

  2. any chance of uploading this again?

  3. .....Ray...Owen's...Moon...Rising.....

  4. Ian McLean, the drummer, is a good mate of mine, loves to reminisce about the old days ....