Sunday, August 31, 2014

Flying Norwegians - New Day / Wounded Bird (1974/76 norway, fine country soft rock, two disc set)

Countryrock Band from Bergen, Norway, formed in January 1974. The band was the first Boosting Countryrock band in Norway.

Rune Walle guitarist and drummer Gunnar Bergstrøm had both played with Hole In The Wall. They had just served with Saft when they joined with Jimmy Martin (vocals, guitar), John Torkelsen (bass) and Jarle Zimmerman (vocals, keyboards) to create Norway's answer to American groups like Eagles, Poco and the Flying Burrito Brothers. Quintet moved to Denmark, where they lived in a collective in the country and created songs to their first LP, recorded in Oslo with Hallvard Kvåle as a producer. The album New Day (1974) attracted attention both for the strong music - especially the title cut, with its dramatic final sequence - and jacket that showed a blimp floating over a dense cloudy.

The original Flying Norwegians unraveled when Walle was a member of the American band Ozark Mountain Daredevils in June 1976. January 1977 (with Jan Ove Hommel on bass) was released on the album the same year. The band had already marked him as studio musicians for Teddy Nelson under the name Flyvende Nordmenn, including  «Diggy Liggy»,, and they continued with this too without Walle. Among the many artists they worked for, had Johannes Kleppevik and lentil Hansen. In 1978 stacked sand, Zimmerman and Bergstrøm a new crew for the legs, now with the Ronald Jensen (bass), Egil distinguishable (steelgitar) and Jan Ove Hommel (guitar, accordion). Walle was a producer for the crew's only LP, This Time Around.

Rune Walle participate in the following LPs with Ozark Mountain Daredevils: Men From Earth (A & M, 1976), Do not Look Down (A & M, 1977), It's Alive (A & M, 1978) and Ozark Mountain daredevil (CBS, 1980).
Disc 1
New Day 1974
1. Young Man (Flying Norwegians) - 3:58
2. Time's Drawing Circles (P. H. Hansen, C. Sanden) - 3:41
3. Those Were The Days (G. Bergstrøm) - 4:15
4. Lucky Number (C. Sanden) - 3:27
5. New Day (C. Sanden) - 5:57
6. Behind The Words (J. Zimmermann) - 3:56
7. Spanish Tragedy (R. Walle) - 3:22
8. Tricky Lies (R. Walle) - 3:06
9. Human Need (R. Walle) - 2:50
10.You'll Come Around (P. H. Hansen, R. Walle) - 6:00
11.It Ain't Just Another Blow (P. H. Hansen, C. Sanden) - 2:24
Disc 2
Wounded Bird 1976
1. Crazy Eyes Go Blind (P. H. Hansen, R. Walle) - 4:19
2. Turn The Page (P. H. Hansen, C. Sanden) - 3:27
3. Taste Of The Money (Flying Norwegians) - 4:27
4. Let's Walk To The River (J. Zimmermann, R. Walle) - 2:14
5. Evening Prayer (J. Zimmermann, C. Sanden) - 3:40
6. Wounded Bird (P. H. Hansen, R. Walle) - 4:35
7. Tangles (J. Zimmermann) - 4:26
8. It's Over (J. Zimmermann) - 4:21
9. Old Lady (C. Sanden) - 2:50
10.Absolutely Sweet Marie (Bob Dylan) - 3:57

The Flying Norwegians
*Rune Walle - Guitar, Vocals, Harmonica, Banjo
*Cato Sanden - Guitar, Vocals
*Gunnar Bergstrøm - Drums
*Jarle Zimmermann - Keyboards
*Johannes Torkelsen  - Bass
*Harald Dyb - Pedal Steel Gyuitar

Free Text
Free Text II


  1. Something new to me.Never heard about this band.Thank"MARIOS"...

  2. Love it and never heard of it. Thank you!