Monday, May 26, 2014

Socrates Drank The Conium - Socrates Drank The Conium (1972 greece, great acid rural rock)

Originally released in 1972, their debut isn't quite as ripping as the totally off-the-hook On The Wings, but it's got plenty of wailing kick ass guitar work nonetheless. Unlike On The Wings there's only one guitar in the mix, but when he gets cooking with the bands' driving rhythm section backing him up he really takes off. There's also some more laid-back, rural psych moments on here, but mostly hard boogie-blues-acid-rock numbers harking back to Cream and Hendrix, assuredly big heroes of Socrates Drank The Conium. They've got something to say through their music as well, as titles like "It's A Disgusting World" and "Underground" indicate, although the band's lasting message might not really be one of radical politics but something more basic: rock on! 
1. Live In The Country - 3:43
2. Something In The Air (D. Wood) - 3:21
3. Bad Conditions - 3:59
4. It's A Disgusting World (Elias Boukouvalas) - 6:52
5. Close The Door And Lay Down - 3:12
6. Blind Illusion - 3:33
7. Hoo Yeah! - 3:36
8. Underground (D. Wood) - 4:40
9. Starvation - 3:45
All songs by Yannis Spathas and Antonis Tourkogiorgis except where noted

Socrates Drank The Conium
*Antonis Tourkogiorgis – Bass, vocals
*Yannis Spathas – Lead Guitar
*Elias Boukouvalas – Drums

1972  Taste Of Conium 

Free Text
Text Host


  1. Μπράβο Μάριε!
    Αν και πρόσφατα αγόρασα τη συλλογή "socrates drank the conium: the complete polydor years" με τα 4 πρώτα albums τους, χαίρομαι πάρα πολύ που βλέπω δημοσιευμένα τα cd τους εδώ που μπορούν να τους γνωρίσουν άνθρωποι απ' όλο τον κόσμο!