Saturday, August 4, 2012

Velvet Underground - Another View (1967-69 us, unique demos and unreleased material, SHM Japan release)

One objective part of me knows that these barrel scrapings are for fanatics and archivists. But another objective part of me knows that the barrel scrapings of a seminal, protean, conceptually accomplished band are their own reward. From the raw power of the instrumental Guess I'm Falling in Love to the dry lyricism of the instrumental I'm Gonna Move Right In, from the tight studio We're Gonna Have a Real Good Time Together to the intense early Rock and Roll, you don't have to know jackshit about the band to enjoy the music--on the contrary, you have to put aside your preconceptions. Because nobody experimented more successfully than these folks.
by Robert Christgau

1. We're Gonna Have a Real Good Time Together (Reed) - 2:56
2. I'm Gonna Move Right In - 6:30
3. Hey Mr. Rain - 4:56
4. Ride into the Sun - 3:20
5. Coney Island Steeplechase - 2:20
6. Guess I'm Falling in Love (Instrumental version) - 3:35
7. Hey Mr. Rain  - 5:16
8. Ferryboat Bill (Reed, Morrison, Yule, Tucker) - 2:10
9. Rock and Roll (Reed) - 5:18
All songs written and composed by Lou Reed, John Cale, Sterling Morrison and Maureen Tucker, except where noted.

The Velvet Underground
*John Cale - Viola, Bass Guitar
*Sterling Morrison - Guitar, Backing Vocals
*Lou Reed - Vocals, Guitar, Piano
*Maureen Tucker - Percussion
*Doug Yule - Bass Guitar, Keyboards, Backing Vocals

Free Text
Text Host


  1. Bravo Bravo Bravo!!! SHM-CD no less! THANK YOU MARIOS!!!!

  2. Hello. If possible would you please re-up the Velvet Underground Another View & VU. Thanks a lot.