Monday, November 17, 2014

Joyous Noise - Wanderingman (1972 us, amazing folk psych with prog shades, 2012 korean remaster)

Based in Los Angeles, California, USA, Joyous Noise comprised Lee Montgomery (vocals), Marc McClure (guitar, keyboards, dobro), Lance Wakely (lead guitar), Happy Smith (bass) and Dennis Dragon (drums). McClure was previously a member of Levitt And McClure, an excellent country-influenced act associated with San Francisco’s Beau Brummels. 

A similar style of music was present on both Joyous Noise albums, but an interest in jazz was equally apparent. McClure subsequently embarked on an ill-starred solo career before joining the reformed Spanky And Our Gang in 1976. Dennis Dragon, brother of Daryl Dragon of Captain And Tennille, later joined the irreverent Surf Punks.

Wanderingman' is the band's 2nd effort. Compared to the first album, it is more progressive/psychedelic oriented as 'Wanderingman Suite' is a killer track.
1. Rock And Roll Road Cowboys (Lee Montgomery, Lance Wakely) - 4:17
2. Slide On The Light (Marc McClure, Happy Smith) - 4:32
3. Silver Guitar (Lance Wakely, Marc McClure, Happy Smith) - 3:04
4. Clear Light (Lance Wakely, M.Roth) - 5:28
5. Harry On Sunday (Lee Montgomery) - 4:05
6. Everyman (Lee Montgomery) - 7:33
7. Story Road (Lee Montgomery) - 4:57
8. Winter (Lee Montgomery) - 4:43

*Lee Montgomery - Vocals
*Lance Wakely - Guitar, Vocals
*Marc McClure - Guitar, Keyboards, Percussion, Vocals
*Dennis Dragon - Drums
*Happy Smith - Bass

Free Text
Just Paste


  1. Sorry, but your credit for writing the Wanderingman suite is wrong. It was written by Ron Elliott, formerly of the Beau Brummels.

  2. Hay, that's me with the guitar. Those were the days. Ah to be young again.