Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Joe Soap - Keep It Clean (1972 uk, smart folk classic rock, 2010 koream remaster)

Joe Soap was a band comprised of John Tennent and David Morrison and the album "Tennent & Morrison" {Polydor, 1972) was their first album. It was recorded with several members of Stone the Crows (Jimmy, Ronnie Leahy, Steven Thompson, Colin Allen), plus Herbie Flowers (bass) and Clem Cattini (drums). Their second album, "Keep It Clean" (as Joe Soap) (Polydor, 1973), featured Gerry Conway (drums, later in Jethro Tull) and Mik Kaminski (violin, from ELO). 

Although they were regarded as a second class British rock bands in the early 70s' they were very good indeed. They were one of the most underrated bands in the British rock & pop history. The album features ten tracks composed by John and David with help of Sandy Robertson (producer). Two guys rather thick but fascinating voices diffuse strong masculine beauty in all tracks.

In addition to it, a mastermind violinist Mike Kaminski's scattering violin features most of the tracks especially on "Feel Strange" and "On The Wing" are just superb. Jimmy McCulloch's intense guitar domains on every track as well. Overall, the album is an awesome combo set of typical British rock classics with strong American southern rock flavor

Both Tennent and Morrison and Keep It Clean are now extremely rare and occasionally surface on the collectors' market. After they release two albums, both John and David are not active as musicians but their talents and the albums still remain even now.
CD Liner-notes
1. Talkin"Bout You - 4:12
2. Warning Sign - 2:58
3. Lay It On Me - 7:05
4. Whatever The Song Is Now (Tennent) - 3:09
5. Get Out From Under - 3:00
6. Feels Strange - 3:24
7. On The Wing (Morrison) - 3:27
8. Time - 3:46
9. All Out Now - 3:22
10. Birdman (Tennent) – 3:33
All compositions by John Tennent, Dave Morrison unless as else indicated

*John Tennent - Guitar, Vocals
*Dave Morrison - Bottleneck, Vocals
*Jimmy McCulloch - Guitar
*Jerry Conway - Drums
*Jeff Pearce - Bass
*Mike Kaminski - Violin

Free Text