Saturday, October 12, 2013

Heron - Twice As Nice And Half The Price (1971 uk, beautiful folk silk rock, japan SHM double disc remaster)

Jeff Thorpe wrote about Heron, that after attempting to research the group (and coming up empty handed), that perhaps he was content to leave their biography a mystery and let the music speak for itself. In truth, even if one would like to dig deeper, when it comes to Heron it is not a matter of preference, but rather, a true lack of information. 

Aside from a few band members’ reflections – found on an otherwise completely sparse website – there is very little history to be found. [...] Recently, we were lucky enough to track down one of the albums by its lonesome, abd listening to it as an individual document proves that the painfully overlooked group was crafting a remarkably unique sound that feels both new and yet very familiar. The record is Twice As Nice & Half the Price. 

An album in which songs of jolly demeanor (“My Turn to Cry,” a driving song with the heaviest drums on the record and sung like a smiley pop orchestration) are mixed into the record seamlessly between solo-efforts and quiet introspective works. Two of the LPs most devastating tracks are both covers. The Isley Brothers “This Old Heart of Mine” is reinvented to reflect the forlorn nature of the lyrics. Dylan’s “John Brown” can be added to the short list of tracks whose cover version is stronger than the original. 

A war-commentary originally penned in 1963 and mostly forgotten until it’s appliance in an “Unplugged” setting, it is sung here in a beautiful harmony that is far from perfect, with a jangling but not up-front piano. It’s this looseness that makes many of these tracks feel like old standards instead of originals. Jovial, yet sad songs that blossom with the raw emotion of single-takes. This is non-abrasive, “easy” folk of the highest caliber, allowing the listener to either get lost in its lyrics, the instrumentation, or the Sunday-afternoon delight.
by B. Kramer, 2008
Disc 1
1. Madman (G.T. Moore) - 4:42
2. Take Me Back Home (R. Apps) - 2:03
3. Love 13 (Lone) (T. Pook) - 2:49
4. Something Inside (R. Apps) - 2:32
5. Miss Kiss (G.T. Moore) - 2:47
6. John Brown (Bob Dylan) - 7:14
7. Big A (G.T. Moore) - 2:58
8. The Sound Of Music (G.T. Moore) - 8:49
9. Winter Harleequin (G.T. Moore) - 4:01 
10. Your Love And Mine (R. Apps) - 2:25
Disc 2
1. You Really Got A Hold On Me (S. Robinson) - 3:18
2. The Great Dust Storm (W. Guthrie) - 3:32
3. My Turn To Cry (G.T. Moore) - 1:59
4. This Old Heart Of Mine (Holland, Dozier) - 4:44
5. Minstrel And A King (G.T. Moore) - 5:29
6. Getting 'Em Down (R. Apps) - 2:00
7. I Wouldn't Mind (G.T. Moore) - 4:02
8. He's A Poor Boy (R. Apps) - 2:42
9. The Devil (G.T. Moore) - 2:40
10. Wanderer (T. Pook) - 2:55
11. Harlequin 5 (G.T. Moore) - 2:52

*Mike Finesilver - Bass
*Terry Gittins - Drums, Percussion
*G.T. Moore - Guitars, Piano, Vocals, Organ
*Bill Boazman - Guitars, Vocals
*Roy Apps - Piano, Vocals, Organ, Guitars
*Steve Jones - Keyboards
*Mike Cooper - Slide Guitar, Vocals
*Tony Pook - Vocals, Percussion

1970  Heron - Heron (Japan SHM remaster)

Free Text


  1. This second Heron album from 1971 was originally released as a double album at the price of one; hence the title. The album shows a greater variety of musical styles than the 1970 debut album. Still it's the acoustic folk-style that's predominant, mixed with some more rocking tunes. Most of the album was recorded out in the open outside a Devon country cottage, which gives the album an unique atmosphere.

    Their songwriting is even more convincing here than on their debut. Their have 2 excellent songwriters in Gerald T. Moore and Roy Apps ( who is still with the band ). Here on their early records it's Moore who is shining the most. His songs "My Turn to Cry", "Minstrel and the King", "The Devil" and "Big A" are simply outstanding. Roy Apps' strongest contributions here are probably "Take Me back Home" and "Your Love and Mine". Another favourite out mine is their charming version of Woody Guthrie's "The Great Dust Storm".

    Sadly this group, never received any commercial success, and most people don't know that the band is still together and recording fine new material from time to time, released on their own Relaxx label.

    Thx Marios.

  2. Wonderful soft music. Can dream with it. Gratulations to Marios! Thanks a lot!!!

  3. THANK you TWICE 4 this great music!

  4. They are still playing!
    Checkout their website at :